SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 11-28-2005, 11:45 PM
Sage Advanced User

Send a message via MSN to neilbradley
DVD From hard drive playback issues

I'm new to SageTV's DVD playback feature, but I've run into a few things that I haven't been able to solve. I have run DVD Decrypter on my DVDs and am in the process of creating and caching up a very large disk array to hold all of my DVDs (no comments on piracy - I own all the DVDs I'm ripping to the array. I'm trying to get rid of equipment, namely a 400 disc DVD changer that's nearly full). My point of comparison is PowerDVD6, which works perfectly for all files.

I've set up \\beacon\video1\DVDs as my media import directory, and have imported all of the DVDs I've ripped so far. I've noticed a few things:

1) The fast forward/rewind buttons on the remote don't seem to do anything, and neither does the advance to next chapter buttons. Shouldn't this just work? I'm using the Hauppauge 48 button remote.

2) Whenever there's any movement/animation/overlays on the screen, I get a terrible jitter from the movie picture, as if it's briefly showing a frame 5-10 frames behind for a split second. Does this have to do with DX9 overlays? I have DX9 usage shut off completely because it kicks my video card's fan on high.

3) With PowerDVD I get full on AC3 audio. With SageTV, I get stereo audio instead, and the volume is EXTREMELY quiet. Doesn't matter what CODEC I use - I still have this problem. Why so quiet, and no AC3?