SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 05-29-2007, 09:54 PM
Sage User

Media extender works with h264?

Hey,

I am new to Sage but not new to HTPC's. I have been storing everything I have in x/h.264 format. From what I read, Sage will play them but I want to make sure that the media extender will too?

It does say it supports MPEG4, and AVI, so I assume the answer is yes. But both of those can be related to non-x/h.264, so I just want to make sure! I haven't actually purchased Sage or an extender yet, but if it supports it I will be buying very soon!

Thanks in advance.
Old 05-30-2007, 04:20 AM
Sage Expert

Perhaps someone can come up with a more definitive answer based on experience, but according to this post:

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/show...18&postcount=3

H.264 should be supported on the MVP. However, technically, the MVP's only play back MPEG2 (AFAIK); you need a relatively beefy server to transcode the video on the fly.

Does that help?

Stu
Old 05-30-2007, 07:14 AM
Sage User

Hey Stu,

Thanks for the response. That does help a lot! But I will still wait for a definite yes or no on whether or not it will definitely work. Maybe I'll email support if I don't get any posts here.

My server is kind of "beefy". It's a core 2 duo with 2 gigs of ram, but I still would need to know if it will actually work.

Thanks!
Old 05-30-2007, 02:40 PM
Sage Icon