SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 03-02-2008, 03:41 PM
Sage User

Will an extender solve my WAF problems?

Hello,

I'm new to SageTV (and HTPCs in general), and so far I'm extremely frustrated. I'm still using the trial version, but after 2 weeks of tinkering I'm beginning to despair.

Most of my problems are related to media playback performance/quality. I'm running everything from a single PC (server & client) and I just can't find a good set of decoders/filters for my graphics (Intel G35) that handles all the video formats that I want to play. The sound is a mess, too -- SD content is super loud, DVD/HD is way too quiet, and after countless hours of tweaking with AC3Filter I just can't get reliable output via my Coax SPDIF. And getting my Logitech Harmony 880 remote to play nice with UIRT has been a nightmare too. It's making me crazy!!!

So here's the question: will a Media Extender magically solve all (or most) of my problems? I only have a single TV, so I'm not really "extending" to another room or anything. I'm just hoping that a media extender will natively playback all of my formats without any fuss, and I can stop worrying about trying to find the perfect drivers/decoders on my HTPC. Am I dreaming?
Old 03-02-2008, 04:32 PM
Sage Advanced User

You're not dreaming. This has worked for me! I was the only one in the house using my PVR systems before Sage came out with an extender.
Old 03-02-2008, 04:34 PM
Sage Aficionado

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretm View Post