SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 03-15-2008, 02:51 AM

HD Live TV Choppy with CPU 80-100% using HD100

I am a newbie to SageTV and the HD100, but got it all hooked up with an HVR-1600 tuner card with cable tv and OTA HD. I have no issues running analog cable LiveTV through the HD100 (component hookup to tv), but when I try the HD channels most of them are choppy both for sound and video, and the processor on my PC goes up to 80-100% usage and stays. I have a P4 2.8 GHz with 768MB Ram and the network is running at 100mbps. Furthermore, when I go to the channel setup for the OTA HD tuner and try to "View" one of the channels that it previously found through the scan, it won't pull in anything - just says no signal, yet the same channel will play choppy in Live TV mode. I guess I am wondering if low(er) signal strength can cause this issue since one HD channel seems to work just fine in LiveTV mode, but the rest are choppy. Will lack of signal strength cause the CPU to spike and hold as it tries to tune in the signal? I am just using an indoor amplified Terk HDTVa to pull in the signal, and it worked fairly well on most channels hooked to my standalone HD tuner, but is certainly on the fringe.