SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-17-2008, 01:16 PM
Scuppasteve Scuppasteve is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
SageMC Menu Customization

Ok so i cant seem to find anything that directly answers my question, basically i have no desire to record TV with sage i would like to handle all my videos, basically from main menu i would like
HD Movies
TV
Movies
all that link to a dif directory or folder, not to a live source
like HD Movies pulls from D:
TV on E:
non HD movies from f:
i dont want it to take 3 days loading one folder since i have quite a bit of data. I want it sorted for the less computer oriented people in my household.

And lastly i was wondering if there is a mass imdb search program like to have it search all my movies for me without me having to do it individually.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2008, 08:21 PM
dflachbart dflachbart is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Brookfield, CT
Posts: 2,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuppasteve View Post
Ok so i cant seem to find anything that directly answers my question, basically i have no desire to record TV with sage i would like to handle all my videos, basically from main menu i would like
HD Movies
TV
Movies
all that link to a dif directory or folder, not to a live source
like HD Movies pulls from D:
TV on E:
non HD movies from f:
i dont want it to take 3 days loading one folder since i have quite a bit of data. I want it sorted for the less computer oriented people in my household.
Yes, you can define Menu items (with the dynamic main menu) that link to your imported videos and define a "filter" for each of them, e.g.:


Code:
        <internalScreenMenuItem icon="D:\Video\SageTV Client\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\Themes\MyTheme\MenuIcons\hover_my videos.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="HD Videos">
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "D:\")</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>

        <internalScreenMenuItem icon="D:\Video\SageTV Client\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\Themes\MyTheme\MenuIcons\hover_my videos.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="TV Recordings">
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "E:\")</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>
Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-16-2008, 08:36 PM
richardcrowther richardcrowther is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Are there any other filters that we can apply in the same way?
I'm specifically looking to filter for unwatched videos.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-04-2008, 12:52 PM
jrog's Avatar
jrog jrog is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar View Post
Yes, you can define Menu items (with the dynamic main menu) that link to your imported videos and define a "filter" for each of them, e.g.:

Dirk
I just tried this to create a section for my Movies, and then another for my TV Series DVDs, but my media is on another machine. It's linked to Sage as \\server\videos\Movies and \\server\videos\TV Shows. I tried placing these paths in the code you supplied, and it does not work. I tried mapping the drives, but Sage won't let you import from mapped network drives. Is there another way to achieve this? Am I doing this wrong?

Thanks,
jrog
__________________
SageTV Server - Q6600, 2GB Ram, 2x 750GB recording, HDHomerun 2xQAM, PVR-USB2, 2x HD-PVR, USB-UIRT controller 2 HD boxes and one SD box

3x HD100 HD Extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:46 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrog View Post
I just tried this to create a section for my Movies, and then another for my TV Series DVDs, but my media is on another machine. It's linked to Sage as \\server\videos\Movies and \\server\videos\TV Shows. I tried placing these paths in the code you supplied, and it does not work. I tried mapping the drives, but Sage won't let you import from mapped network drives. Is there another way to achieve this? Am I doing this wrong?

Thanks,
jrog
Try doubling your slashes ie:
\\\\server\\videos\\Movies
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2008, 02:59 AM
mherce mherce is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Try doubling your slashes ie:
\\\\server\\videos\\Movies
Humm, not working for me. Am doing:

<internalScreenMenuItem icon="hover_movies.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="Movies">
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "\\\\Bigboi\\Media\\Movies")</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
</internalScreenMenuItem>

Anyone get this working with UNC paths?

I'd also be very interested in being able to create filters based off of tags in wiz.bin (like year, genre, etc).

Thanks!

Last edited by mherce; 06-14-2008 at 03:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2008, 05:02 AM
jphipps jphipps is offline
Sage Expert
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 512
From memory, I believe the the path is an offset of the import video path. for example a file called "\\server\share\Movies\Action\somemovie", the imported video path would be "\\server\share\Movies" and the XML file for the path filter would contain "Action" and all movies under the Action folder would be displayed.

I believe that filter is only on the path/file name...

Thanks,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2008, 07:13 AM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by mherce View Post
Humm, not working for me. Am doing:

<evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "\\\\Bigboi\\Media\\Movies")</evalExpression>

Thanks!
Check your sage.properties file for the setting "seeker/archive_directory". The path listed there must match exactly the path you are listing in the menu filter.... at least mine does.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:01 AM
mherce mherce is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Thanks for the replies!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jphipps View Post
From memory, I believe the the path is an offset of the import video path. for example a file called "\\server\share\Movies\Action\somemovie", the imported video path would be "\\server\share\Movies" and the XML file for the path filter would contain "Action" and all movies under the Action folder would be displayed.

I believe that filter is only on the path/file name...
I think this might be where I am messing things up but I am not clear on the fix. So my import path is "\\Bigboi\Media". Under that there are these directories: Movies, Home Video, Misc Video, Music Videos, Trailers and TV.

So how would I use the filter expression to make a link in my menu.xml for movies?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-21-2008, 02:37 PM
jusjoken jusjoken is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Strathmore, AB
Posts: 2,727
I believe the filter must match the import path exactly, therefore, you would need a seperate import path created for Movies ("\\Bigboi\Media\Movies"). You would then need the other directories that were at the same level as Movies to be at another level... for example, move the directories "Home Video, Misc Video, Music Videos, Trailers and TV" to a new path like "\\Bigboi\Media\Other" and make that another import path. You would then have 2 import paths ("\\Bigboi\Media\Movies" and "\\Bigboi\Media\Other") and you would filter the Movies path.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-27-2008, 08:22 AM
mherce mherce is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 50
Yes that worked. I had only \\Bigboi\Media as the import path. Once I broke it up into individual folders, I was able to use the path filtering.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-06-2008, 07:34 AM
KingPumpkin KingPumpkin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Question Got the dynamic menu, having issues mapping to remote button

I have a dynamic menu setup that takes me to a custom view of my video library that has videos from all import directories but one. Now I'm trying to setup the Videos button on my remote to take me to this dynamic menu rather than the full video library.

I setup this dynamic menu to have a shortcut key of Custom1 (I've tried the other Custom buttons too). I then map the Videos button to Custom1. I've disabled the RSS options that use Custom1 and Custom2. However, now when I press the Videos button, it takes me to "My TV".

I've read in previous posts that Custom1-5 are pre-setup in SageMC. Is there a way to disable the pre-setup mapping for Custom1-5? Is there another way to accomplish this? Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:57 AM
Brent Brent is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KC, Missouri
Posts: 3,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingPumpkin View Post
I've read in previous posts that Custom1-5 are pre-setup in SageMC. Is there a way to disable the pre-setup mapping for Custom1-5? Is there another way to accomplish this? Thanks for any help.
I'm curious about this as well. Actually though I thought only the Custom 1-3 actions were pre-set in SageMC and the 4-5 were customizable.

Custom 1 = My TV
Custom 2 = Recorded TV
Custom 3 = Movies
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-21-2008, 12:13 AM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Forgive me ignorance, but where do I add the below XML code? Looking at the sageMC directory, I see menu layouts, but they don't seem to be XML. Also, will I be able to disable deleting in one option (say Movies), but enable it in another (say podcasts).

Thanks,
Ben

Quote:
Originally Posted by flachbar View Post
Yes, you can define Menu items (with the dynamic main menu) that link to your imported videos and define a "filter" for each of them, e.g.:


Code:
        <internalScreenMenuItem icon="D:\Video\SageTV Client\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\Themes\MyTheme\MenuIcons\hover_my videos.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="HD Videos">
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "D:\")</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>

        <internalScreenMenuItem icon="D:\Video\SageTV Client\SageTV\STVs\SageTV3\SageMCE\Themes\MyTheme\MenuIcons\hover_my videos.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="TV Recordings">
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "E:\")</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>
Dirk
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-21-2008, 01:49 AM
MeInMaui's Avatar
MeInMaui MeInMaui is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maui. HI
Posts: 4,203
Look for sagemc_menu.xml in your ...\SageTV directory.
__________________
"Everything doesn't exist. I'm thirsty." ...later... "No, it's real!!! I'm full."
- Nikolaus (4yrs old)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-23-2008, 02:18 AM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post
Look for sagemc_menu.xml in your ...\SageTV directory.
Hmm, that kind of works. The menu item now shows up, but none of the videos in the specified directory show up. Here's the XML I added:

Code:
        <internalScreenMenuItem icon="F:\Podcasts.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="Podcasts">
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "F:\Podcasts")</evalExpression>
            <evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>
I am able to add the directory through a shift-menu command, but then the podcasts show up in both "My Videos" and "Podcasts".

Also, I noticed that when I enter the Podcasts screen, it says "My Videos". Is this expected?

[edit] One last thing, I'd like to disable deleting in "My Videos", but keep it enabled in Podcasts. Is this possible?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Ben

Last edited by benjamintm; 08-23-2008 at 02:23 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-24-2008, 08:24 AM
Skirge01's Avatar
Skirge01 Skirge01 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,599
You may need to remove and re-add the import directory before the changes take effect. While I can't confirm that was necessary for me, I started doing that as I was attempting to get this working.

Also, is F:\Podcasts in the import folder list or do you have something else, such as subfolders listed? I believe the two need to match.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-24-2008, 12:43 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Okay, I got it working, though I had to disable the existing "My Videos" option in sagemc.xml and create a new one. There are just two issues left.
  1. The icon I'm specifying for Podcasts isn't showing up in the main menu. Is there a specific format and/or place it needs to be?
  2. Can I specify that one video directory can have delete enabled while the other does not. I watch Podcasts and then delete them. I rarely delete videos from "My Videos".

Lastly, I'm curious. I'd like to have a main "new videos screen" which would aggregate all the podcasts and recorded TV shows along with metadata. Is this currently do-able or is it something I have to code up?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-24-2008, 10:10 PM
benjamintm benjamintm is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 165
Actually, the hacker in me has one more question. The shown XML uses what appears to be function calls. Is there documentation on these and others?

Thanks,
Ben
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-02-2008, 09:00 PM
mhatten mhatten is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 19
Can one menu filter handle 2 different folders

I've created a new menu item to handle my ripped DVDs. However, i keep those DVDs in 2 seperate folders(e:\DVD and f:\DVD). I have the filter working for just one of the folders, but not both. I can't find or figure out the correct syntax to do this. Trial and errors not working very well either.

Can someone help me out?

Code:
<internalScreenMenuItem icon="hover_my videos.png" screen="Video Library Folder View" title="My DVDs">
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExprs", new_java_util_ArrayList())</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>java_util_List_add(PathFilterExprs, "e:\\DVD","f:\\DVD")</evalExpression>
<evalExpression>AddStaticContext("PathFilterExcludes", false)</evalExpression>
        </internalScreenMenuItem>
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STV Import: Favorite Channel Lists BobPhoenix SageTV Customizations 174 03-02-2012 05:13 PM
STV: SageMC 16x9 Version 6.x (latest dev build) dflachbart SageMC Custom Interface 6112 04-04-2008 11:16 PM
Custom Main Menu Icons for SageMC Brent SageMC Custom Interface 3 01-26-2008 09:04 PM
STV Import: Add Future Airings Buttons to Basic menu jbarr SageTV Customizations 3 02-09-2007 10:44 AM
SageMC 6.31 and calling an external application CanadianEh SageMC Custom Interface 6 01-23-2007 06:09 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.