SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations > SageMC Custom Interface
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageMC Custom Interface This forum is for discussing the user-created SageMC custom interface for SageTV.

Old 03-24-2008, 06:23 AM
Sage User

New user running trial, some customization questions please?

Hi, so I'm brand new to SageTV.

I've been looking at WHS boxes and was disappointed to discover they do not support a centralized MCE setup. However, MS's website themselves referred me to SageTV. So I spent the vacation week playing with SageTV trial and I think I have all the basics figured out:

1) I found the nice XMLTV app and got it working
2) I got commercial skipping working
3) Installed the nice SageMC and been using that during my playing with SageTV
4) TV is recording (though I will have to get into how to use my MCE blasters to control my STB later)
5) Got my media imported

So I got basics up, but I have developed some advanced user questions that I hope I can get some help with here?

I'm relatively technical (so no need to pull any punches ) and been using MCE and now Vista for my HTPC needs. I want a configurable setup, but not one I have to spend time turning into a hobby (been there, done that, am now too busy ). I have no problem spending time to get my setup right, but after that initial learning curve, I do not want to have to deal with it except for updating and minor maintenance. MCE has been perfect for this but its inability to support WHS is just beyond me.

Ok my questions:

1) Is there any way to get my MCE dvr-ms files imported into SageTV so it will read the meta data encoded in them?