SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 08-25-2008, 05:32 PM

Post Would this work?

Hi, im ryan, and im fairly new to this whole Sagetv thing, nevermind PVRs.

I am planning to provide live tv and pvr functionality to 3 or 4 tvs around my home, using sagetv.

I hope to have a server, which runs the Sagetv as a service, and is dedicated to sagetv. It would run 2000 or xp or maybe a server 03(undecided).

I would like the server to have 4 capture cards, such as the Hauppauge PVR 150, hooked up to 4 cable receivers, each with the same channel line up, controlled by IR blaster or similar.

I have the nescessary networking in place and would wish to use a combination of Wireless and Wired Hauppauge Media MVP for the TVs, with maybe one Windows Sagetv client in the future.

Cabling would be over CAT5e and wireless would be over 802.11g WEP.

I would like the clients to be able to view live television, view dvd images, record tv ("off peak" probably), listen to music, the general sage experience.

The advantages of this system would be that cable tv is hard to route around a home and therefore It would be easier for it to be in one location, with the functionality of Sagetv included, and to have a small STB type thing running wirelessly or via Cat5e, which is already installed around my home.

My questions are:
- Does the Media MVP display live TV from SageTV Server?
- Are there any major disadvantages of using the Media MVP as a client?
- Will I get traffic issues running this scaled system on CAT5e?