SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Old 11-16-2008, 12:51 PM
Sage User

Question Dual EPG, plus other questions

Hi All,

I am totally new to SageTV - and have some questions which will probably take me way over my head very quickly!

I have dedicated headless media server pc in the cellar - which I initially bought intending to install Linuxmce.. then finally gave up on and went the windows route.

I am currently using VMC with wired Linksys Media Centre extenders and an Xbox 360, but am getting p'd off with the limitations (EPG, no VOB playback on extenders etc).

I have been reading some of the posts here, and Sage looks like it may fill some of my requirements nicely, however I do have some questions.

1) I live in Switzerland, but receive UK Sky channels via Sky digibox(es) (connected via S-Video - and controlled with a Heenan USB control box (http://www.heenan.me.uk/control-sky-from-pc/))
This works ok, however, I also want to add the Swiss OTA via cable line up (all analog at the moment), with EPG. VMC does not like running 2 EPG's in parallel.

Q: Will Sage allow me to run a EPG for UK Sky for 1 Tuner card, and another EPG with a totally different lineup on a analog card?

2) VOB Playback, I have loads of DVD's which I would like to centralize, and be able to play back from any of the extenders I will rip them to VOB if necessary.
Q: Multi language is a big requirement for me - can I select audio streams and subtitles?

3) I have read on these forums about these DBV-S decoders with a CAM - which allows to receive Sky directly, bypassing the Digibox - this sounds fantastic!