SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 01-11-2009, 05:19 PM

How to watch DVD's with an extender?

I've been using Sage for 2 years. I currently have 1 machine that I record and watch on. I am considering building a server, and going with extenders.

For those of you that are using extenders, and have your server in the basement, how do you watch DVD's? What is your setup? Thanks.
Old 01-11-2009, 05:40 PM
Sage Icon

I watch dvd's with my xbox 360. Or I just Rip the dvd's to my server to watch later.
Old 01-11-2009, 06:01 PM
SageTVaholic

I use my DVD or Blu-ray player.
Old 01-11-2009, 06:16 PM
Sage Aficionado

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunlover View Post
I've been using Sage for 2 years. I currently have 1 machine that I record and watch on. I am considering building a server, and going with extenders.

For those of you that are using extenders, and have your server in the basement, how do you watch DVD's? What is your setup? Thanks.
Simply rip your dvd's using any available software, keep the files in it's own folder, copy that folder to a directory on your server where you want to store them and watch away. If you want a picture showing up in the directory when you view it take the picture rename it folder.jog and throw it in the dvd folder.

I keep each dvd in it's own folder within a genre folder within a formet folder, as I am sure most people do.

eg
sage ->
Movies -> action
-> drama
-> comedy etc...
TV -> action
-> drama
-> comedy etc...

2xhd300
Old 01-11-2009, 08:35 PM
Sage Expert