SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 02-06-2009, 02:56 PM

Import Directories

I am new to Sage and am having a couple of issues with setting up import files. I am running the following:

SageTV HD Theater STP-HD200
HP MediaSmart Server EX470 with Windows Home Server
SageTV Media Server (V6.5 for Windows Home Server) ver. 6.5.8.203
Vista Home Premium 64-bit desktop

Files on the server in the shared directories are visible to the HD200.

I cannot get access to the files on the desktop PC from the HD200 when connected to the server or running sage on the server. The same thing happens both locations. I am trying to add import files as follows:

From the SAGE main menu --> setup --> detailed setup --> general --> media center inport directories modify --> add new directory

I then use the up directory button until I get to NETWORK folder. When I select this I get an invalid dirrectory message. Also on this page is current smb:////.

If I try to specify the file as \\servername\... get directory does not exist,do you want to create it? If I say yes, i get a failure error.

What is strange, is that if I do not connect to the server and run the sage interface, but instead run the HD200 from its main menu, i can see all off the files and directories.

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 02-06-2009, 04:30 PM
Sage Expert

Not sure if this is the issue... If you are running sage as a service, you have to run the server as a user that has access to the share on the client.

Thanks,
Jeff
Old 02-06-2009, 05:26 PM