SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 07-19-2009, 09:18 AM
Sage Advanced User

Newbie questions

Sorry, I really have researched, I'm just overwhelmed. I'm completely new to HTPC, and am getting ready to buy Sage. I'm trying to decide on a capture and video card. Here's my setup and considerations:
- I have a non-HD projection TV now, so I need something other than HDMI output. S-video or something would be great. BUT, I'm going to be getting an HD sometime in the future, so if the card also had a HDMI output that would save me down the line.
- I also want to be able to run PC games through the card, on the TV.
- I use a DISH Network receiver, that's just a single tuner (1 room). So I guess I don't need a capture card that does more than one tuner, correct?
- What do I need to buy to have my Harmony One remote interface with Sage through my PC?

If someone could recommend a capture card, video card, etc. I would really appreciate it. Thanks for any help.
Old 07-19-2009, 11:43 AM
Sage Icon

Tuner:
If you are in an area where you can get OTA signal then you probably want to get a card that will tune HD from an antenna. Even if you are using an analog TV the picture will look better than an analog capture if played back via Svideo. The OTA capture will also look great once you update the TV.