SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 09-01-2009, 02:25 AM
Sage User

Initial dev environment suggestions

This sticky is sound advice and taking such I have read the entire user guide in preparation. However I still have questions about setting up my development environment that the guide didn't touch enough for me. Can the forum comment on the best way to set up a development environment given the following considerations:

1. I have 1 full license and two placeshifter licenses.
2. I don't want to effect the operation of my server in any way.
3. My customization ambitions will involve placeshifter communication.
4. I am an experienced java programmer.

Can I install a client instance using my current license and still run my server? Will I be able to work with placeshifter to the client install? If not, will SageTV offer a dev license for a dev server? Noticing a recent post about extending the StudioAPI anyone suggesting the best editor for the job?
Old 09-01-2009, 06:45 AM
SageTVaholic

Dan,

You can't use the "full license" on your server and a client at the same time. You need to buy a client license in addition to the full license you already have. I have not heard of Sage offering "developer licenses" but it sure would be a good idea.

You could use your server license to run Studio on the server. If you're running Sage as a service this will not effect the operation of the server. (Because in effect Studio will be running as a "client" connected to the "server" service.) Of course if you really mess something up while developing you may have to reboot the machine so strictly speaking this will violate your rule number 2.