SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Linux
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Linux Discussion related to the SageTV Media Center for Linux. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Linux should be posted here.

Old 01-08-2010, 08:26 AM
Sage Icon

Glitches in recordings caused by sagetv

Hi,

I filed a support request yesterday, but I was hoping somebody here would have some insights.

I've been running SageTV for ~2 years. In all that time, through 3 versions (6.3.x, 6.4.8, 6.6.2.1) and many different Java versions, I've consistently had problems with small corruptions in recordings due to SageTV server activity. Whenever I do anything that causes the "spinning wheel" on my HD100, I'll get a glitch in any recording that is in progress. I'm talking about things like entering the recordings menu, entering the videos menu, etc.

I have a really simple setup. I'm running Ubuntu 8.04 on a dual-core 2.5GHz athlon64. Recordings are saved to a SATA based internal software Raid5 array formatted with XFS. I do all my SageTV viewing via an hd100. I'm using sun java 1.6.0_17. I'm using the default STV with the comskip plugin and malore menus enabled. I use good tuners (LG DT3303 based based Dvico Fusion HDTV5 Gold and Airstar HD50000, and a Pinnacle 800i), I'm close to the towers, and have generally excellent reception.