SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 10-21-2010, 12:19 PM
Sage User

How are people setting up SageTV with FiOS these days?

I'm new to FiOS and would like to resurrect my SageTV, starting with a newly rebuilt HTPC (XP Pro, Phenom quad, buku RAM and HDD) how are people using SageTV with FiOS these days? I tried to find relevant threads in several forums but it's mostly ancient info or not very relevant to me.

My STB is a Motorola QIP7216 DVR. And I build systems and networks, so please feel free to go techie on me.
Old 10-21-2010, 12:24 PM
Sage Icon

You'll need an HD-PVR if you want to record HD at 720p/1080i.

Most of the relevant info can be found by searching on HD-PVR or HDPVR.

Been using it more than a year, more heavily now that SageTV v7 is available (Release Candidate -- should be final in a few weeks?) and the HDPVR is pretty darn stable for me.
via Olevia 247TFHD/Onyko TX-SR606/Harmony 550/HP MediaSmart EX490 WHS w/12TB
Plex Media Server v0.9.9.5 on HP Touchsmart Envy 23 d16qd
Sonos Play:3, Connect / SimpleTV v2 / Roku 2 XS+Plex / iPhone 5 / iPad 2
Old 10-21-2010, 12:30 PM
Sage User

Thx for the assist, but I believe the Motorola QIP7216 is a dual SD/HD device. I have an HDHomerun as well, but no M-card, obviously. There's a $400 6-tuner device with am M-card in it, might get one around Xmas time.

Are you hooking up the PC to the PVR via what? Firewire? USB? From what I've found so far, it seems most people are using Firewire but with occasional frame drops, grr.

My HTPC is WinXP x86 based, Phenom II x4, all high-end components.
Old 10-21-2010, 12:40 PM
Sage Icon