SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 11-19-2010, 11:17 AM
Sage User

Extender losing the connection?

Slightly odd behavior with the extender that I'm borrowing from a friend (he got the 300 so he lent me his 200.)

I have the trial version of the software, giving it a good trial before making the purchase, so I'm still kind of new to the setup.

I have the SageTV software (the last beta before the release) running on a Windows XP Home plugged in to the router. The computer is configured to not go to screen saver or shut off the video. It's also configured so that SageTV is a high-priority task.

The hard drive on which the media is stored is connected to my Linux machine and shared via Samba.

The Extender is plugged in to a switch which connects wirelessly to the router via 802.11n.

I haven't seen any problems with the recording portion of things. Everything seems to be recording just fine. However, when I'm playing back through the extender, I'm seeing some odd behavior. When I start up the extender the past couple of days, it can't see the server until I go downstairs and, using my highly-technical debugging skills, jiggle the mouse. Then it's able to connect fine.