SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1001  
Old 04-09-2011, 09:23 AM
Wakecrash Wakecrash is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 265
SHS, that is pretty much what I would start seeing, however since I began restarting my server every morning I have not had the issue in a week. Seemed like I was getting the stutter issue about every 28 - 30 hours.
__________________
Server: GA-890GPA-UD3H; AMD X6 3.2Ghz; 4GB DRAM; W7 premium 64bit; Sage V7.1.5; 5-Seagate 7200.12 500GB; Unraid server: 7 TB
Clients: MSI Media Live Diva, CPU Regor 250, Radeon 5570, W7 Premium 32bit; HD300; HD200
Capture: Directv H23-600 Colossus, 2- Directv H21-200, 1- Colossus, 1 - HD-PVR, all ethernet tuning, component/spdif; 1-Directv D10 1-Avermedia M780 serial tuning; OTA 2-HVR2250 1-Avermedia M780
Reply With Quote
  #1002  
Old 04-09-2011, 03:33 PM
korben_dallas's Avatar
korben_dallas korben_dallas is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,250
Before disabling my Colossus altogether, I did try a morning restart every morning. Problems were the same.

IMO, the Colossus drivers are unstable, and with an HD PVR also active, they are that much worse. Might be a memory leak, since some Colossus recordings were perfect. Or might be stream differences between channels, though I have both my STBs set to 1080i + Dolby.
__________________
SageTV server & client: Win 10 Pro x64, Intel DH67CF, Core i5 2405s, 8 GB ram, Intel HD 3000, 40GB SSD system, 4TB storage, 2x HD PVR component + optical audio, USB-UIRT 2 zones + remote hack, Logitech Harmony One, HDMI output to Sony receiver with native Intel bitstreaming
Reply With Quote
  #1003  
Old 04-09-2011, 05:18 PM
The Truth The Truth is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 154
can some1 send me a restart bat? this fixes my issues just need to restart it. i have xp pro.
Reply With Quote
  #1004  
Old 04-10-2011, 10:49 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by korben_dallas View Post
Before disabling my Colossus altogether, I did try a morning restart every morning. Problems were the same.

IMO, the Colossus drivers are unstable, and with an HD PVR also active, they are that much worse. Might be a memory leak, since some Colossus recordings were perfect. Or might be stream differences between channels, though I have both my STBs set to 1080i + Dolby.
I agree, the combo of a HD PVR and a Colossus seem to be unstable, and Java heap numbers increase steadily until crashing

Last edited by tvmaster2; 04-10-2011 at 09:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1005  
Old 04-10-2011, 01:15 PM
toricred's Avatar
toricred toricred is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern New Mexico
Posts: 1,729
For anybody having any level of success with the combination of Colossus and HD-PVR, which driver are you using for the HD-PVR?
Reply With Quote
  #1006  
Old 04-10-2011, 01:50 PM
The Truth The Truth is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by toricred View Post
For anybody having any level of success with the combination of Colossus and HD-PVR, which driver are you using for the HD-PVR?
1.0.5.301
Reply With Quote
  #1007  
Old 04-14-2011, 11:15 AM
michelkenny michelkenny is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 233
I'm going to have to read this entire thread over, but I just wanted to post my issues/experiences. I have one Colossus (latest driver), one HD-PVR (both 1.5.7.0 and 1.0.5.301 drivers) and two HVR-2250 and my Colossus has been very problematic. My two STBs are set to 720p, and are connected via component for video and audio (no optical).

My problems range from audio dropouts, SageTV recording errors at the end of a recording, SageTV recording errors during a recording...

I'm going to have to try the daily automatic restart to see if it improved anything.
Reply With Quote
  #1008  
Old 04-14-2011, 04:35 PM
Wakecrash Wakecrash is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 265
Michel, I could never get my Colossus and HD-PVR to coexist. Sagetv suppport believes it is a Hauppauge driver issue.
__________________
Server: GA-890GPA-UD3H; AMD X6 3.2Ghz; 4GB DRAM; W7 premium 64bit; Sage V7.1.5; 5-Seagate 7200.12 500GB; Unraid server: 7 TB
Clients: MSI Media Live Diva, CPU Regor 250, Radeon 5570, W7 Premium 32bit; HD300; HD200
Capture: Directv H23-600 Colossus, 2- Directv H21-200, 1- Colossus, 1 - HD-PVR, all ethernet tuning, component/spdif; 1-Directv D10 1-Avermedia M780 serial tuning; OTA 2-HVR2250 1-Avermedia M780
Reply With Quote
  #1009  
Old 04-14-2011, 05:14 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clift View Post
I use the Colossus HD PVR exclusively and I haven't had a crash. My SageTV does seems to be a bit slower, but I think that may be due to resources (i.e. the PCIe card uses more resources than the USB). Maybe the drivers are less mature, who knows.
how is your luck with Colossus and HD PVR? Have you had any long-term audio recording problems with either unit?
What setting do you use: M2TS, TS or MP4, and why?
thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #1010  
Old 04-14-2011, 05:36 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wakecrash View Post
Michel, I could never get my Colossus and HD-PVR to coexist. Sagetv suppport believes it is a Hauppauge driver issue.
what problems did you have? I was told the same thing by Sage - it's Hauppauge drivers.
When a HD PVR recording begins, it cancels all audio that was currently active on the Colossus.
So that's not good
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #1011  
Old 04-14-2011, 05:50 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
what problems did you have? I was told the same thing by Sage - it's Hauppauge drivers.
When a HD PVR recording begins, it cancels all audio that was currently active on the Colossus.
So that's not good
Are you using optical audio? Have you tried RCA audio on both devices? I've been running the Colossus/HDPVR combo with no issues since I got my Colossus. I use RCA audio on both devices.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...
Reply With Quote
  #1012  
Old 04-14-2011, 06:02 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slugger View Post
Are you using optical audio? Have you tried RCA audio on both devices? I've been running the Colossus/HDPVR combo with no issues since I got my Colossus. I use RCA audio on both devices.
that's the problem: if I run optical on both, Colossus suffers. I have no intention of watching HD1080 recordings with analog stereo, otherwise, I'd just get Netflix LOL
It's obvious there is a problem with SPDIF. What's not obvious is what anyone is doing to fix it.
thanks
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #1013  
Old 04-14-2011, 06:08 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,375
Hauppauge might be able to double the reliability of the Colossus if they offered a "mono" audio mode...

__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #1014  
Old 04-14-2011, 07:53 PM
Slugger Slugger is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kingston, ON
Posts: 4,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
that's the problem: if I run optical on both, Colossus suffers. I have no intention of watching HD1080 recordings with analog stereo, otherwise, I'd just get Netflix LOL
It's obvious there is a problem with SPDIF. What's not obvious is what anyone is doing to fix it.
thanks
True, but dual HD inputs w/analog sound is way better to me than a single input with optical sound. That's just me though. Optical sound has never worked for me even when I just had the HDPVR, but I've never really investigated too much because I really don't care that much about it. I'm pretty sure in my case it's the crappy optical cables I bought off ebay, but didn't care enough to investigate. HD picture + stereo sound, for tv recordings, is more than sufficient for me.

EDIT: And, most importantly, it's been rock solid/not a single issue since I popped the Colossus card into my server.
__________________
Twitter: @ddb_db
Server: Intel i5-4570 Quad Core, 16GB RAM, 1 x 128GB OS SSD (Win7 Pro x64 SP1), 1 x 2TB media drive
Capture: 2 x Colossus
STB Controller: 1 x USB-UIRT
Software:Java 1.7.0_71; SageTV 7.1.9
Clients: 1 x HD300, 2 x HD200, 1 x SageClient, 1 x PlaceShifter
Plugins: Too many to list now...

Last edited by Slugger; 04-14-2011 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #1015  
Old 04-15-2011, 07:09 PM
impro impro is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Asus board core 2 duo 4gigs ram
100gb 5400 laptop sys drive
1trb video drive
1trb sage drive
Music on NAS

Brand new win7 64bit installation
2 colossus card installed first
1 pvr 1600 card installed after.
No win tv software installed.

It took 6 days to get a glitch which disappeared after restart.
Very stable.
Reply With Quote
  #1016  
Old 04-15-2011, 08:51 PM
The Truth The Truth is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wakecrash View Post
SHS, that is pretty much what I would start seeing, however since I began restarting my server every morning I have not had the issue in a week. Seemed like I was getting the stutter issue about every 28 - 30 hours.
I have to Agree with this. I think it may be some kind of a memory leak and an unstable driver. I also havent had the issue. if you have multiple cards installed, I recommend you HCWdriverinstall to install the drivers or your cards may not work at all.

1st install cards then power up and use HCWdriverinstall, then reboot. you should be okay if you restart the computer everyday.
Reply With Quote
  #1017  
Old 04-15-2011, 09:59 PM
Rico66 Rico66 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 407
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Truth View Post
I have to Agree with this. I think it may be some kind of a memory leak and an unstable driver. I also havent had the issue. if you have multiple cards installed, I recommend you HCWdriverinstall to install the drivers or your cards may not work at all.

1st install cards then power up and use HCWdriverinstall, then reboot. you should be okay if you restart the computer everyday.
This is not about hours, it's rather about channel changes (which essentially means new recordings from the Colossus perspective). Right now while watching 2 Hockey games in parallel (and switching back and forth between both), I get somewhere between 15 and 20 changes before I have to restart the Sage service. Yes maybe it's a driver issue, but the Sage server drags down my whole system as a result of this.
Reply With Quote
  #1018  
Old 04-15-2011, 10:55 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rico66 View Post
This is not about hours, it's rather about channel changes (which essentially means new recordings from the Colossus perspective). Right now while watching 2 Hockey games in parallel (and switching back and forth between both), I get somewhere between 15 and 20 changes before I have to restart the Sage service. Yes maybe it's a driver issue, but the Sage server drags down my whole system as a result of this.
fascinating . . . more testing now
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #1019  
Old 04-16-2011, 09:18 AM
uberpixel uberpixel is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 238
I've seen some improvements since scheduling a daily SageTV restart (not a full system restart).

I have only had the slo-mo choppy video once in over a hundred recordings.

That said, I am still having audio sync issues with Component+SPDIF. It seems to be a cumulative problem where the audio is pretty close in the beginning of the recording but after an hour or more, it can be off by more than a second. I have also had some recordings that were out of sync from the very beginning as well, but that is less frequent.

I've switched to Component (w/ stereo audio) to see if the problem is specific to SPDIF as others are reporting.

Not sure who's at fault here, but I wish Sage and Hauppauge could get together and come up with a fix for some of these issues.

-uberpixel
__________________
{Server} | i5-3330S | Z77X-UD5H | 8gb DDR3 | Windows 10 Pro |
{Tuners} | (1) HDHomerun (OTA) | (1) HDHomerun Prime + OpenDCT on Comcast |
{Client} | (2) HD300 Extenders | (1) PC Client | Mi Box Android Client | FireTV Stick |
Reply With Quote
  #1020  
Old 04-16-2011, 09:57 AM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by uberpixel View Post
Not sure who's at fault here, but I wish Sage and Hauppauge could get together and come up with a fix for some of these issues.
It's Hauppauge's issue. The device filters output premixed TS packets, all Sage has to do is write the packets to disk.
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVR-150 and PVR-250 together with hauppauge 45-button remote eallen Hardware Support 0 03-16-2009 06:28 PM
Hauppauge PVR-350 Silver Remote conflicts with PVR-150MCE mayamaniac Hardware Support 45 08-19-2006 07:53 PM
Hauppauge PVR-250 w/ PVR-500MCE Truxton Hardware Support 3 11-24-2005 02:17 PM
Wintv pvr 150 vs the USB2 PVR from hauppauge? steingra Hardware Support 9 10-14-2005 02:23 PM
Hauppauge PVR-350 & PVR-500 coexisting? rwc Hardware Support 7 01-19-2005 01:48 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.