SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Old 12-29-2010, 02:21 PM
Sage User

Cannot play Bluray with placeshifter

Hi, I'm a newbie at SageTV, so please bare with me.
I have Dell SC440 with Windows Home Server OS and with SageTV & SageTV Placeshifter installed. I [believe I] am using this as the server. I have my Sony VIO VPCF123FX laptop with SageTV Placeshifter installed. I can see photos, listen to music, watch DVD titles, all okay, both LAN and WAN. I cannot play any of the BD titles. I get the message: There was an error playing 10,000 BC: ERROR (-19): There is no MediaPlayer that can playback the selected file.

I have tried several ways to correct this with no luck. Everything I have read implies there is a codec needed. I have tried, but clearly have cockpit error or else I wouldn't be here writing this. Is there a procedure documented any where that I can reference that will, step-by-step, tell me how to install and verify a new codec to support BluRay format files?

I use MyMovies with SlySoft installed to backup my discs. I have settings such that the BDMV directory structure is created with stock settings for how the rip is performed. I have the most up to date versions of each component as far as I can tell.

I have no SageTV hardware, no capture devices, everything implemented is software. I have not implemented the TV receiver functions.

Again, I'm sure it is cockpit error on my part. Any help would be welcome.

Update: I also see that SageTV has a Audio/Video detailed setup where PlasceShifter doesn't.

Last edited by rdww60; 12-29-2010 at 03:20 PM. Reason: Information Update
Old 12-29-2010, 06:45 PM
SageTVaholic