SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV v7 Customizations > Phoenix
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Phoenix This forum is for discussing the user-created Phoenix custom interface for SageTV.

Old 09-08-2011, 01:54 PM
Sage Advanced User

Newbie Questions -- Views vs Menus vs Filters....Help!

I love the Phoenix functionality and powerful tools, but I'm not a programmer and have no idea how to code (or what file to edit) to get the UI just the way I want it.

I don't know if I'm really dealing with menus, views, filters ... or some combination of them.

I have my imported/archived media stored in folders according to audience and purpose. From the top down ... Movies, Archived TV and Family Movies. Movies has 3 sub-folders: Fitness, Kids and Not Kids. Archived TV has Kids and Not Kids, and Family Movies has Home Movies, Performances and Trips.

Ideally I'd like to implement a similar structure in my Phoenix UI. Can I divide the Archived TV menu item (under TV) into two sub-items and have each of them point to one of my two sub-folders? Can I divide the Videos menu into my three custom sub-menus? And how do I get the Home Movies under Memories to point to my folder, and is it possible to further split into the three sub-folders?

Thanks for your help,
--Heidi Dugan
Old 09-08-2011, 02:28 PM
Sage Icon

You'll be dealing with a combination of views (VFS) and menus. Inside the views you can filter, sort group etc to align the contents as you wish.

I don't think one needs to be a programmer to do what you want to do. Once you get the general gist of how these components all work together it's not too bad. I'd take it one small step at a time. There's quite a few people here to help.