SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Old 05-19-2017, 04:18 AM
Sage Advanced User

Suggestions to improve startup time?

I've been running SageTV now for about 10+ years and my wiz.bin has gotten to a point where it's taking 8 minutes to get Sage to initialize (from start to accepting client requests.

Fri 5/19 5:55:54.392 [main@4d7e1886] EMBEDDED=false
Fri 5/19 6:03:07.016 [PSNATMGR@2a0a4215] Starting UPnP NAT Manager...

If I look at the logs, it seems to be the Splash Profiler that's killing load times.

Fri 5/19 5:56:24.587 [SageTV@7775e12c] Splash: Profiler is initializing... 2% done
Fri 5/19 6:02:50.033 [SageTV@7775e12c] Splash: Profiler is initializing... 100% done

I've compared this to my Test server which takes no time at all since the wiz.bin file has hardly anything in it.

Is there anything that can be done to improve the amount of time the server takes to boot? (aside from faster hardware of course )

I'm running on Ubuntu 16.04.2 server, Sage 9.0.14.568

Last edited by Greg2dot0; 05-19-2017 at 04:21 AM.
Old 05-19-2017, 04:35 AM
SageTVaholic

You can either set limited_carny_init=true in Sage.properties or wait for this commit to be in the next SageTV release.

limited_carny_init means that it will only process favorites when starting up. That means that if you use intelligent recordings it could be hours before you'll start to see those kinds of shows recording.
SageTV v9 Server: ASRock Z97 Extreme4, Intel i7-4790K @ 4.4Ghz, 32GB RAM, 6x 3TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 5TB 7200rpm HD, 2x 6TB 7200rpm HD, 4x 256GB SSD, 4x 500GB SSD, unRAID Pro 6.7.2 (Dual Parity + SSD Cache).