SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 02-12-2005, 07:22 PM
Sage User

Experiencing Frequent System Crashes

Just installed SageTV and a Hauppauge PVR-500 card that I bought as a bundle. I'm new to SageTV so please don't assume I'm doing anything correctly (but I am not a noob when it comes to computers).

The PVR-500 drivers, SageTV, JRE 1.4 all installed without a hitch. Yay! :-)

Things quickly went down hill. :-(

I configured the tuners (no probs), set the quality to DVD Standard Play, tweaked a couple other things, and found that the playback was kind of jerky and that there were some artifacts. Then my system crashed. It now crashes after a few second to a minute of recording or watching "live" TV.

I'm guessing this is a problem with the Hauppauge card/drivers but how do I diagnose this and prove it?

Things I've tried:
  • Moving the PVR-500 from the 3rd to the 2nd, then to the 1st PCI slot (it's now back in the 2nd slot as the 1st as the first PCI slot is very close to the video card)
  • Upgrading to the SageTV 2.2 Release Candidate
  • Removing tuner #2 so tuner #1 would be used, removing tuner #1 so tuner #2 would be used (trying to see if only one of the tuners was the problem -- no luck).

Here's some system info in case it's helpfull:
Windows XP Home SP 2
Athlon XP 1700+ (Soyo SY-K7V DRAGON Plus mobo)
512 MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5700LE (driver version 66.93)

Video Drivers, etc. are all up to date to the best of my knowledge.