SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 02-24-2007, 01:33 AM
Sage User

Sage TV service hangs on startup with little info

For those you*new* to SageTV, this is just a set of personal opinions, but perhaps this might be something well worth reviewing in detail before you commmit/purchase ... - or not-

Please forgive me, I've been using (and bragging on) Sage for several years now, but this struggle gets to be too much ... (and I've now quit bragging ...)

I've beeen running running sage 5.0.4 (started with 2.1) on a dedicated, specifically built-for Win2k machine for quite some time now (and all-the-while loudly bragging on Sage to all my friends/family) as a great alternative to commercial DVRs. For the most part, Sage has worked well and I've been very happy with it. No longer ...

However, when Sage fails - it *[word edited out by moderator]*. It seems impossible to troubleshoot, and Sage would seem to require the skills of an uber-expert and the termperment of Job to get thru. When it fails, it just fails without any saving grace (IMO). I know about this: it's failing for me now ... Sage has *NO* grace when it fails, you are just totally out of luck.

Now please understand that I've written code (but not in this area) for over 35 years (started with computers professionally in 1969) and I've always thought that applications should try their best to help their users when things go wrong. IMO, Sage just doesn't do this, certainly not in my case.