SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 08-11-2007, 11:39 PM
Sage Aficionado

Migrating from BTV

I've been using BTV for almost 3 years now and have been reasonably happy with it.

The lack of development on Beyond Media, and the asinine money grab attempts from SS has forced me to look elsewhere for HTPC software.

What do I need to know before moving to SageTV? I currently have one BTV Server setup, Three BTV Link licenses, and Two Firefly remotes. Here are my questions.....

Am I able to use my FF remotes with SageTV without too much hassle?

What do I need to do to watch SageTV remotely on another computer over my LAN (and WAN if possible)?

Do I need to buy a separate license for every remote computer I want to watch SageTV on?

Thanks!
Old 08-12-2007, 12:23 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Khristopher View Post
What do I need to do to watch SageTV remotely on another computer over my LAN (and WAN if possible)?

Do I need to buy a separate license for every remote computer I want to watch SageTV on?
There are two different products (and licensing models) for watching SageTV from another computer.

SageTV Client is designed for local LAN use and offers many configuration options for optimizing video playback. The UI executes locally using the resources of the client PC. The SageTV Client software must be installed on the client PC and is licensed per seat, i.e. you must buy a client license for each PC you install it on.