SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 01-20-2004, 10:03 PM
Sage User

cabling dual PVR 250's

I currently have two lines running to my Direct Tivo unit in my living room.

In my HTPC room I have third Directv Line (no Tivo) line connected to a TV. I just ordered a PVR 250 card to connect to my HTPC while using the single cable line that the regular Directv box is using.

I am very intrigued about purchasing a second a PVR 250 for dual channel recording but would like to know if I could use one of the lines currently running to my Direct Tivo in my living room and extend it to my HTPC room and make it the second line. Common sense tells me yes but you never know with these things.
Old 01-20-2004, 11:17 PM
Sage User

I am not an expert with DirectTV but I think I can help answer this. Each TV you want to use with DirectTV needs to have its own DirectTV receiver. This should be the same with the PVR-250s. To use the PVR-250s, you will need two DirectTV receivers and some sort of IR control for each DirectTV box.

The reason you are taking two lines into the DirectTivo is because it has two tuners capable of recording two different shows at the same time or recording one while watching another. To my knowledge, most DirectTV dishes only allow a hookup of four receivers so you will have to use your current DirectTV (not Tivo) to go to one of the PVR-250s and buy another DirectTV box to go to the other PVR-250. As far as the DirectTivo, I guess it could run with just one line but I don't know how that would affect the functionality. You might want to test to see if it is smart enough to realize that the second line isn't available.