SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-11-2008, 05:41 PM
Sage User

How to force Sage to use a newer version of Java?

OK, I feel like an idiot. I'm not a beginner when it comes to Java programming, but I can't seem to get my Sage installation on Windows Home Server to use the newer version of Java I installed.

I installed the JDK, version 1.6.0_06, to its default installation location (C:\Program Files\Java) along with its public JRE, but for whatever reason SageTV doesn't want to use it.

I know this because I've been fighting some periodic (and still unexplained) instability with my setup. I sometimes get Blue Screens of Death, which I'm attributing to a driver problem, but more frequently the JVM just stops, along with hs_err file which claims it's from Java version 1.6.0-b105.

What's the secret to getting Sage to use this newer version? I had this newer version installed before I installed Sage; what else is there?

Thanks for any help!

Rich
Old 06-11-2008, 05:51 PM
SageTVaholic

Try uninstalling all older versions of java through add/remove programs. This is not done automatically when you install a new version. They just stack up.

Aloha,
Mike
Old 06-11-2008, 05:58 PM
Sage Icon

I like:
http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32125

cleans out all the old versions
Old 06-11-2008, 06:19 PM
Sage User

Quote:
Originally Posted by MeInMaui View Post