SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 04-16-2009, 10:20 PM
Sage Advanced User

Sagetv Stability/Support

I've been using sagetv for about 3-4 years now. I actually remember it being pretty stable initially, but as the versions progressed, it became more and more unstable (at least, that's been my experience).

My setup was initially very simple, but as I added more and more features (newer versions, some plugins, clients, HDTV, an HD200, etc) the setup became more and more flaky. I've been spending longer and longer trying to get it to work reliably with little success.

Recently, I've decided to try and move my server from XP -> Linux, hoping it will finally be reliable. I have an HD200 for the bedroom and figured if it worked, I'll get another one for the living room and finally have a stable setup. I hoped I'd be able to get through all the Linux hurdles because I've been a UNIX/Linux administrator for about 9 years now. Boy was I wrong. Sagetv on linux is ridiculously unstable, and the HD200 "stable release" doesnt even remotely work - you MUST upgrade to beta firmware for it to keep from crashing.

I've tried contacting sagetv support for assistance, but have barely even received any responses from them, which was a surprise to me - I've poured so much money down the sagetv pit.

I'm curious if I am alone in this, or if anyone else had similar experiences. I'm also going to paste below the correspondence I've had with sage's support.

--------------------------------------------------------

Hi,