SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 05-13-2009, 01:47 PM

SageTV Newbie: Any problem with running SageTV Media Center on primary computer?

I'm new to SageTV, so please bear with me. Here are a list of components I already have:
  • Sony KDS-55A3000
  • Core i7 920 Computer
  • Radeon 4890 & 4870 on the computer
  • DirecTV HR20 HD DVR
  • Toshiba HD DVD Player
  • Hauppauge HD PVR

The computer and the TV are about 10-15 feet apart. This is my primary, and only, computer. Initially, I just wanted to get the HD PVR to watch/record HDTV on the computer since I can't directly see the television from where I sit. Then it grew into wanting to stream to the television and possibly add placeshifting down the road.

Seeing as how I don't have an extra server lying around and that the computer is near the television, is there any problems with running the Sage Media Center on that computer and letting it handled everything? My plan was to connect the computer to the television via HDMI (audio & video) through one of the Radeon ports, which is supported apparently.

Is the Sage Media Center an intensive application or is it fine to have it run in the background all the time on my main computer?

Later on, I have thoughts of adding a second television for the bedroom and maybe I would tackle the need of a true separate "server". But for the time being am I find not running a dedicated server? I think the only thing I might want to do is install a dedicated Sage hard drive in the computer.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Computer Specs:
  • Core i7 920 (o/c'd to 3.8 GHz)