SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 06-28-2010, 01:29 PM
Sage Icon

STV/STVI/Theme Question

I hope this is the right place for this question...

Disclaimer - I'm a tech enthusiast with very limited programming skills

I have been working on a theme that in order for me to get the look I want I have to adjust basic layout of each of the menus, add new images and reassign images (Sagetv7.xml) in Studio. Once I finish getting a handle on all the Studio stuff I will be creating a STVI with my changes. We're talking almost exclusively visual stuff so no "new" features etc.

At which point does the above become a full UI replacement "STV" like SageMC/Ortus Project/Phoenix Project ???

It seems that the best way for me to package this all together is to just supply my custom STV and my theme directory containing all the files needed.

Please correct me If I am totally going down the wrong track.

Thanks,

Jeremy
Old 06-28-2010, 01:33 PM
SageTVaholic

Your is a STVi is only becomes a STV if it is a full UI replacement (ie not dependent on the default STV. Since you are just modifying the default STV but still relying on it heavily it would be a STVi.
Old 06-28-2010, 01:55 PM
Sage Icon

It really depends on how you distribute it...

If you are just changing colors and graphics (like a "skin"), it is best to create a custom theme and just distribute this.

If you need to modify the layout of some of the screens, add custom pop-up menus, etc. it is best to create and distribute an STVi (import). You do this by following these basic steps:
  1. Make a backup of the default SageTV STV file.