SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Old 10-19-2010, 08:28 AM
SageTVaholic

Questions about metadata and the pecking order...

Okay I have some questions about metadata and the SageDB objects since I have never written to them much before.

I am more concerned with the pecking order which things get written.

Lets say a new file is found during the scan that contains a .properties file. I am going to assume that properties file info gets written first to the database. Then the even listener for mediafile added gets fired. That is where my worry comes in and maybe I shouldn't be worried, but if a user has BMT and say my program installed it seems to be it is going to be last one called that gets the info written. As if BMT is called first and then my listener files then my info is going to overwrite BMT's info. Is that correct? What stops both from trying to write at the same time and causing errors?

Maybe I am over worrying thinking this but I just now users are going to install both even if I tell them not to and then someone is going to complain I or BMT is breaking their metadata and wanting to make sure I understand the process correctly before I decide to change my ways and go this route.

cheers
Old 10-19-2010, 09:06 AM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by PLUCKYHD View Post
Okay I have some questions about metadata and the SageDB objects since I have never written to them much before.

I am more concerned with the pecking order which things get written.