SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-2018, 11:02 AM
Dahrl Dahrl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Exclamation Network encoder tuning issue.

Trying to add some network encoders to my setup.

The network encoder is using Sagetv v9.1.8 with a HD PVR with built in IR blaster, works locally to the machine without issue.

But I cannot seem to get it to change channels from the main server.

I can watch TV fine, I just can't change the channels of the network encoder.

Any help would be appreciated.

D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2018, 12:19 PM
wnjj wnjj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahrl View Post
Trying to add some network encoders to my setup.

The network encoder is using Sagetv v9.1.8 with a HD PVR with built in IR blaster, works locally to the machine without issue.

But I cannot seem to get it to change channels from the main server.

I can watch TV fine, I just can't change the channels of the network encoder.

Any help would be appreciated.

D
Post the log files from both machines after attempting the channel change. I donít remember if the encoder machine needs to client or server logs so just grab both.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2018, 01:25 PM
Dahrl Dahrl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by wnjj View Post
Post the log files from both machines after attempting the channel change. I donít remember if the encoder machine needs to client or server logs so just grab both.
I would totally do that, however I don't actually have a valid option to select in the list for the network encoder to change channel.

Because there are only two options for this.
  1. Where all options are only local to the main server (not the network encoder)
  2. Do not tune.

Yes I could plug in a usb-uirt and configure it and string the IR cables from the main to the network encoder, but then it kinda becomes counter productive of the concept of the network encoder.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2018, 06:54 AM
Dahrl Dahrl is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dahrl View Post
I would totally do that, however I don't actually have a valid option to select in the list for the network encoder to change channel.

Because there are only two options for this.
  1. Where all options are only local to the main server (not the network encoder)
  2. Do not tune.

Yes I could plug in a usb-uirt and configure it and string the IR cables from the main to the network encoder, but then it kinda becomes counter productive of the concept of the network encoder.
I figured this out on my own, there is something to be said for ambiguity in the wording of the choices presented when adding a new video source and selecting the tuner, but upon reading the second option carefully. It simply means that the main server will not do any tuning but the network encoder can. So after choosing this one, and realizing my IR emitter was off a little. Everything worked.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV as a network encoder / recording on network encoder works, not from server perfessor101 SageTV Software 0 06-21-2014 05:59 AM
Network encoder delay between tuning and playing michaeldjcox SageTV Software 8 04-18-2009 01:18 PM
Network encoder, weird stutter issue stryker SageTV Software 0 01-22-2008 02:39 PM
Possible network encoder reconnect issue AndyS SageTV Beta Test Software 0 12-14-2006 09:58 PM
Channel changing issue (R5000 network encoder) Kirby Hardware Support 33 06-13-2006 05:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.