SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 11-13-2004, 11:26 PM

Question Newb: DishNetwork, Dishplayer and Dual Tuners

Hi all,

Just discovered SageTV and it all sounds so cool... if it will work with my setup although I am willing to make some changes in service to make it work. I have DishNetwork and a Dishplayer 7200 and would like to know first off if SageTV will even work with this setup. I'm a newb to all this so I have a few basic questions now after doing a ton of reading...

We want dual tuners for sure so how does that work from a satellite? Do I have to have 2 dishes? Can't find a solid answer on how that would actually work. I have read that cable can be split but satellite cannot. I'm just not sure if an entire separate dish is needed or what has to be done.

I did read somewhere that the Dishplayers would probably not work with SageTV as far as changing the channels. Can anyone confirm whether a 7200 would work? I know it's old and crappy and may get a different STB if necessary to work with SageTV.