SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV International User Forums > SageTV United Kingdom
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV United Kingdom SageTV and SageTV Recorder Users from the UK - This forum is for you to post about specific issues using SageTV software in the UK.

Old 11-21-2007, 02:31 PM
Sage User

Jumpy picture on some programmes

As I am still very new to Sage TV, I have to ask a basic question. Some Freeview programmes have a very poor, jumpy picture, the worst is BBC News 24, while others are fine. It does not seem to be related to the multiplex that they are on. I have been using an indoor aerial, so I took the setup downstairs and used the main loft aerial connection but the results were the same. The loft aerial was installed when I had OnDigital tv, one of their engineers put it in, so I would have thought it would be suitable for Freeview. I am using a Nova T 500 card.

Any thoughts?
Old 11-22-2007, 03:56 AM
Sage Aficionado

If you go to setup, then go to setup video sources, and then channel list I think it is, by hitting 'View' on the choppy channels you can view their signal strength.
You may need a booster right where the aerial enters the house if the signal is poor.

Have you tried viewing these channels with the software that came with the TV card, just to narrow it down to either the card/drivers or the software?
Old 11-22-2007, 05:44 AM
Sage User

Thanks, John. I had checked the signal strength as you suggested and it was fine, but there is no check for signal quality, so that may be a problem. I will try using WinTV and see if that is better.
Old 11-23-2007, 03:09 AM
Sage User

Same problem on WinTV. I also tried playing a DVD on the Sage DVD player and that was fine, so it can't be caused by the processor or grafx card.
Old 11-23-2007, 03:48 AM
Sage Icon

Send a message via MSN to jaminben