SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > The SageTV Community
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

The SageTV Community Here's the place to discuss what's worth recording, HTPC deals at retail stores, events happening outside of your home theater, and pretty much anything else you'd like. (No For-Sale posts)

Old 01-05-2008, 12:22 PM

What are the costs to get going

I'm brand new to this. Just wondering what I need to get started. All I want to do is have a basic setup where I can record shows just like a dvr. I've already got a computer I can use. I don't have a tv tuner card. How do I know if the tv that I have will work, or can you use any tv? What else will I need to get? thanks!
Old 01-05-2008, 01:03 PM
Sage Icon

I got started for about $180 when I purchased a Hauppauge PVR-350 and software. Later I purchased two MVP media extenders, a more powerful computer and several hard drives. You can start for under $200 as a minimum if you already own a computer.

SageTV records at various quality levels, if you use high quality, it will consume 3 gigs per hour. You did not mention what type of computer and operating system that you could use with SageTV.

You can setup SageTV for standard definition and high definition. You need to decide how many different programs you want to be able to record at the same time. Some people can only record one program at a time, some 8 or more programs at a time. How much you can record is dependent on how much disk space you have. I started with about 120 gigs and now I am up to 1400 gigs. It depends on how large you want to scale up your system.