SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 01-31-2008, 11:33 PM
Sage User

Potentially 15TB Sage Server Setup Advice

I have been running Sage here in the house for about 4 months. The first two months were on experimental hardware with various configurations, and the last two months have been using more final hardware with the HD Extenders. It is now time to clean up the server closet and close out this project with a long term configuration. I have a few ideas and issues that I would like to get the thoughts of the more experienced users out there.

My SageTV server is currently configured as Sage version 6.3.5 on Windows Server 2003 SP2, Dual Xeon 3.0 HT Processors, 2GB RAM, nVidia QuadroFX 1400, 2x500GB (RAID1, OS), 4x500 (RAID5, Recordings), GigE, HDHomeRun, HVR-1600, PVR-500 supporting 3 HD Extenders. It took several loads of the server to get all the issues worked out for smooth video processing which I have achieved. I run DirMon2 and ShowAnalyzer (paid mode) limited to two live sessions at a time. I have a second workstation (dual Xeon 3.2, 4GB) that in addition to it's regular duties, I have it running another two sessions of ShowAnalyzer to catch any overflow on the main server. All machines use Gigabit network cards connected to a single 24 port Gigabit switch so the network ShowAnalyzer sessions run almost as well as local with very little impact on the server. I have considered changing the timing on the DirMon2 configs so that the network sessions are the first choices and the local sessions are secondary, but haven’t enabled that as yet.