SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 03-11-2008, 04:46 PM
Sage User

Having .avi's show up under My TV

I am a very new SageTV user that has just made the switch from BeyondTV. I just received my 2 new HD100's today here in Australia and was delighted how easy they were to get running.

Now, I had my SageTV Server machine built and configured by a friend so I am no expert in doing this. He set me up with 3 HD's (750GB per drive, NICE!) with 3 TV folders.

Before, with BeyondTV, I would be able to move .avi's files into my BeyondTV TV folder and as soon as this happened, it would appear on the Now Playing list. It was very simple and worked great!

Today, I tried doing the same thing with SageTV and placed xxxx.avi into the TV folder and to my surprise, it does NOT show up under My TV on my HD100.

I tried puting it into a Video folder and it showed up with no problem under My Videos, but I have over 300 movies in those folders and it was very hard to find quickly. I really want certain .avi's to appear under My TV.

So my question, and I am sure its been asked a thousand times but searching didnt really help, how can I quickly and easily "drop" a .avi file into the TV folder so it instantly shows up under the TV menu?

Thanks for the info =)
Old 03-11-2008, 05:27 PM
Sage Icon

SageTV will only show a video file in the My TV section if it has metadata about it stored in the wiz.bin. If not, it will consider it an imported video.