SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Media Extender
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Media Extender Discussion related to any SageTV Media Extender used directly by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to a SageTV supported media extender should be posted here. Use the SageTV HD Theater - Media Player forum for issues related to using an HD Theater while not connected to a SageTV server.

Old 03-25-2009, 11:03 AM
Sage Aficionado

HD200 - A nice small box, but

I am new to SageTV and love it and the HD200. But, I find that the size of the HD200 means that you have to use it in a manner which seems to run counter to my view (and hopefully others' too) of what the physical arrangement of distributed video should be. And that is, I think, to have all of the visible hardware in one location and only the displays and tiny IR receivers local to the viewer.

I find the HD200's form-factor and design clutters up the viewing experience when used with flat panel displays. With other distributed video technology, such as using a central matrix switch with only IR receivers and wallplate baluns (or small dongle type baluns) local to the viewer, you can place the display right against the wall or out on a stand and all you see is a tiny IR receiver 'eye' which you can locate in a wall or cabinet door or stick to the side of the display. With the HD200 you have this box that is difficult to hide unless you have a cabinet, but then you still have to see the whole box, when it is really only necessary to see the IR receiver eye.