SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:20 PM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Create an mp3 from .ts file

Can someone tell me how to pull the audio track from an h.264 Sage .ts recording and convert it to an MP3?
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2009, 05:31 PM
Slipshod's Avatar
Slipshod Slipshod is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve52 View Post
Can someone tell me how to pull the audio track from an h.264 Sage .ts recording and convert it to an MP3?
you'll need a demuxing tool to pull out the audio track, and then something to convert it to MP3. EAC3TO will demux for you, and it also converts to some formats (FLAC, WAV), but not to MP3 directly.
__________________
SageTV V7 (WHS), Diamond UI
Server: WHS with Xeon X3350, 4GB ECC, ASUS P5BV-C/4L, recording into a 6.6TB Drive pool
Tuners: 4 (2x HDHR)
Clients: 2x HD300, 1x HD200 Extenders, 1x Placeshifter
2x Roku XD
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2009, 12:29 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve52 View Post
Can someone tell me how to pull the audio track from an h.264 Sage .ts recording and convert it to an MP3?
1) get graphstudio, the monogram mp3 encoder, dump.dll (attached)

2) regsvr32 the two filters

3) build a graph (see screen shot); the last filter is dump

http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/atta...1&d=1239733670

4) play
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ts2mp3.JPG (26.9 KB, 623 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip Dump.zip (26.6 KB, 277 views)
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote

Last edited by Opus4; 04-14-2009 at 12:56 PM. Reason: image is too wide to be posted inline; changed to link
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:28 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
You could do it with SageTVTranscoder:
Code:
<SageTVPath>\SageTVTranscoder.exe -i <filename>.ts -vn -acodec mp3 -ab 128k output.mp3
Make 128k whatever bitrate you want. I've used something quite similar to convert quicktime trailer aac audio to ac3.

-doh, or maybe not, looks like the Sage version of ffmpeg doesn't have mp3 encoding enabled.

So lets try this again, but with mencoder:
Code:
<pathtomencoder>\mencoder -oac mp3lame -lameopts preset=standard -ovc frameno -of rawaudio -o output.mp3 input.ts

Last edited by stanger89; 04-14-2009 at 02:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:38 PM
babgvant babgvant is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
You could do it with SageTVTranscoder:
Code:
<SageTVPath>\SageTVTranscoder.exe -i <filename>.ts -vn -acodec mp3 -ab 128k output.mp3
Make 128k whatever bitrate you want. I've used something quite similar to convert quicktime trailer aac audio to ac3.
is the syntax for the transcoder documented anywhere?
__________________
babgvant.com | @babgvant | Missing Remote
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2009, 02:42 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by babgvant View Post
is the syntax for the transcoder documented anywhere?
You can do -h, or it's just ffmpeg, so the ffmpeg docs/info apply.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:44 AM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
You could do it with SageTVTranscoder:
Code:
<SageTVPath>\SageTVTranscoder.exe -i <filename>.ts -vn -acodec mp3 -ab 128k output.mp3
Make 128k whatever bitrate you want. I've used something quite similar to convert quicktime trailer aac audio to ac3.

-doh, or maybe not, looks like the Sage version of ffmpeg doesn't have mp3 encoding enabled.

So lets try this again, but with mencoder:
Code:
<pathtomencoder>\mencoder -oac mp3lame -lameopts preset=standard -ovc frameno -of rawaudio -o output.mp3 input.ts
Stranger,
The Transcoder option does not work, and I think you are saying that above.

I would like to try the mencoder option but I don't think I understand it. Where do you put the file name <filename.ts>? Have you tried this option, and does it work?
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:52 AM
doc's Avatar
doc doc is offline
Sage Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Leicester, England
Posts: 918
I don't know about ts files, but I extract mp3's from mpegs using

sagetvplayer -dumpaudio filename.mpg -dumpfile newfile.mp3

it might be worth a try
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:02 AM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve52 View Post
Stranger,
The Transcoder option does not work, and I think you are saying that above.

I would like to try the mencoder option but I don't think I understand it. Where do you put the file name <filename.ts>? Have you tried this option, and does it work?

Sorry, I called it "input.ts", how's that for consistency. And yes it works.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:44 AM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by doc View Post
I don't know about ts files, but I extract mp3's from mpegs using

sagetvplayer -dumpaudio filename.mpg -dumpfile newfile.mp3

it might be worth a try
It did work but the quality is poor, and windows media player reports that the file type did not match the .mp3 format. It did play however. I need a high quality mp3 pulled from ts file.
Thanks anyway!
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-15-2009, 10:53 AM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
You could do it with SageTVTranscoder:
Code:
<SageTVPath>\SageTVTranscoder.exe -i <filename>.ts -vn -acodec mp3 -ab 128k output.mp3
Make 128k whatever bitrate you want. I've used something quite similar to convert quicktime trailer aac audio to ac3.

-doh, or maybe not, looks like the Sage version of ffmpeg doesn't have mp3 encoding enabled.

So lets try this again, but with mencoder:
Code:
<pathtomencoder>\mencoder -oac mp3lame -lameopts preset=standard -ovc frameno -of rawaudio -o output.mp3 input.ts
Stranger,
Silly me, I thought mencoder was probably another program within sage. I see now that it is a seperate program that is a free download. I will have to download it and learn to use it. Before I go thru all that, will this option give me a high quality .mp3?
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2009, 12:29 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Well it uses lame with whatever parameters you want, so as far as the mp3 encoding goes, it shouldn't get much better. You could change preset to insane if you don't care about size
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2009, 08:55 PM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanger89 View Post
Well it uses lame with whatever parameters you want, so as far as the mp3 encoding goes, it shouldn't get much better. You could change preset to insane if you don't care about size
I am not having any luck here. I downloaded the windows version of mplayer version 0.6.7 but mencoder was not included with it. From what I read mencoder is a companion program for mplayer, but I don't see any place to download just it. Also I tried to play the Sage .ts file thru Mplayer and it crashed my computer. Not sure why?
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:01 PM
stanger89's Avatar
stanger89 stanger89 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 15,188
Try here:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...kage_id=248631
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-18-2009, 10:47 AM
briands briands is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 1,093
eac3to worked very well to get me a flac file

Now 2 related questions... how do I manage a split recording in sage into a single flac file?

What's the best way to break the flac into individual tracks?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-19-2009, 09:29 PM
Steve52 Steve52 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 369
I want to thank all those who offered suggestions here, but in the end none of these worked out for me. I was really looking for a windows based software that I could just drag and drop an HDPVR file (.ts) into and create an mp3. After a lot of searching I found that there are a lot of programs out there that will meet my requirements for most video formats but not for the .ts files that sage creates from the hdpvr. I have found one that will however, and it is Quick Media Converter version 3.6.5. I was able to use this to create the mp3 files I needed. The file was very large however so I used another program, Slice Audio File Splitter version 2.0, to split the mp3 file into smaller segments. I thought this might help someone else looking to do the same thing I was. These are free programs, and you should proceed with caution when loading and trying. As always use at your own risk. One of the programs I wanted to test (not one of these) tried to load a trojan virus on my computer. Fortunately my antivirus software stopped it.
__________________

Central Sage Server Win 10 64 Bit, Two HD200, Three HD300, & One PC Client 21 TB storage. SageTv 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UTF-16 File Names throwing playback exception on mp3 PAF SageTV Beta Test Software 3 08-14-2008 02:43 PM
Create .edl file with Comskip? chadman SageTV Customizations 9 02-05-2008 10:52 AM
How to create a posting richardhood36 General Discussion 1 03-16-2007 12:39 PM
Any tricks to create my own filenames? whardy7 SageTV Software 0 09-07-2004 01:14 PM
How to create extensions ? nelis SageTV Customizations 3 08-03-2004 10:03 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.