SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Placeshifter
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Placeshifter Discussion related to the SageTV Placeshifter application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV Placeshifter software application should be posted here.

Old 04-17-2009, 10:17 PM
Sage User

New to SageTV Placeshifter - Need Help!

Hello, I am new to SageTV Placeshifter and I am looking for help on getting up and running. Here's what I've done so far.....
- Installed SageTV 6 on Computer A
- Installed SageTV Client on Computer B
- Installed SageTV Placeshifter on Computer B
- Attempted to forward port in the Belkin Router Setup to 31099 TCP to the IP Address on Computer A. I have never forwarded a port so I am not sure if I did it right. In the Belkin router setup, I went to Virtual Servers under the Firewall heading and typed 31099 twice in the inbound port column, then TCP, then Computer A's IP Address, then 31099 twice in the Private port column, then applied changes.
- When I test the Placeshifter connection in the setup wizard on Computer A, it says found locater ID, but cannot connect. Make sure the port is forwarded yada yada.
- Regardless, I tried to connect through Computer B's Placeshifter and when connecting through the local network, it goes through, but then when I disable the network connection and connect to the internet through a separate dialup modem (simulating a computer away from home), it says the error message that it cannot connect to the server.

Can someone please help? Thanks.
Old 04-18-2009, 01:34 AM
SageTVaholic

Try forwarding port 31099 for UDP as well as TCP. That's the way I have mine set up anyway.

Also make sure your Sage server (Computer A) has a static LAN IP. If it gets its IP by DHCP, the forwarding will stop working when the IP changes.
Old 04-29-2009, 08:35 AM
Sage User