SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 08-24-2009, 10:26 PM
Sage User

WHS and Sage storage

I'm new to both whs and Sagetv and have a quick question. My set-up is a dedicated server with a 640gig primary drive (20 system/620ish data), plus 2 x 1TB drives placed into the pool.

I noticed that when whs backed up my desktop machine it fairly equally distributed the data across the D: data drive (20gig), and the 2 pool drives (37gig/ea). This makes it look like the D: is included as part of the pool.

My question is, when I install Sagetv will it also place some of the recordings into the D:? My understanding is that it will not occur unless the pool drives become full, but because of the way the backup was distributed I'm now not so sure.

If it does include the D: in the pool, then I will have to go back and change it to 64k clusters also (1TB pool drives are already reformatted). I hadn't done this yet because I wasn't sure I had a need to do so.

Thanks,

Roy
Old 08-25-2009, 07:25 AM
SageTVaholic

The storage on D: is the backup database. That is what it is used for. It is NOT part of the pool and would only be used if your pool ran out of space. You don't need to format D: for 64k.

Gerry
Server - WHS 2011: Sage 7.1.9 - 1 x HD Prime and 2 x HDHomeRun - Intel Atom D525 1.6 GHz, Acer Easystore, RAM 4 GB, 4 x 2TB hotswap drives, 1 x 2TB USB ext Clients: 2 x PC Clients, 1 x HD300, 2 x HD-200, 1 x HD-100 DEV Client: Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - AMD 64 x2 6000+, Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-DS4H MB, RAM 4GB, HD OS:500GB, DATA:1 x 500GB, Pace RGN STB.
Old 08-25-2009, 08:17 AM
Sage Aficionado