SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:04 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Exclamation Question for Developers: imported video title, episode, and relative import path

We are considering another change and would like to get feedback from customization developers.

For imported videos currently: GetShowTitle() returns the video's title with the relative path from its import dir as its prefix, GetShowEpisode() returns the video's title, and GetMediaFileRelativePath() returns the relative path. That's how the SageTV core imports videos, anyway; the title & episode fields are already set by some customizations to be the actual title & episode.

In order to work as expected and fit better with metadata customizations, how would these planned changes affect customization developers:
  1. The Show title field for imported video files would no longer contain the relative path, the API call GetMediaFileRelativePath() would need to be used instead to get that.
  2. The Show title field for imported videos would now contain the actual title; the Show episode field would then be blank unless there was metadata specified for it. Currently the Show episode field holds the actual 'title' for an imported video file. Update: the episode filed would also contain the title. If the title is the same as the episode, just display the title; if they are different, both can be displayed.

The default STV would probably need to change how it gets the title from the episode field, but it already uses GetMediaFileRelativePath(). I'm guessing most metadata related customizations are already doing this and would like this core change, but we don't know that for sure.

Thanks.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:13 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
That sounds great to me!

Currently, it is a big mess trying to extract a proper Title for imported videos, when metadata have not been imported through a third party plugin. The various ways to rip dvd's tend to be the main issue.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-07-2011, 12:42 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
This doesn't affect me much since I am neither a developer nor a consumer of metadata plugins. However I am curious whether you plan to retrofit the necessary STV changes to the legacy SageTV3 UI that's still included in the install.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:28 PM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
I like the idea of making it easier to get the show title, but I don't want it to break existing customizations. I'd prefer keeping the existing method as is but add a new method such as GetImportedShowTitle().
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:43 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Tom, I don't see how adding a new method helps. There's already a way to get just the title of an imported video: GetShowEpisode(). The problem is that having different methods for imported videos v. recordings is arbitrary and unintuitive. GetShowTitle() ought to work consistently in all cases, and the proposal is to change it so it does. I think it's a good idea.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-07-2011, 01:45 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKusnick View Post
This doesn't affect me much since I am neither a developer nor a consumer of metadata plugins. However I am curious whether you plan to retrofit the necessary STV changes to the legacy SageTV3 UI that's still included in the install.
If we do this, we would need to update all STVs provided by SageTV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
I like the idea of making it easier to get the show title, but I don't want it to break existing customizations. I'd prefer keeping the existing method as is but add a new method such as GetImportedShowTitle().
Adding yet another field would just cause more confusion & complexity, I think, especially since the episode field now contains the title & would be changed.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:05 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
It has very little affect on me... since I set the titles as per your new approach anyways. I like the new approach, since I find it more intuitive, and eventually I'll be able to do away with a bunch of code that current checks a bunch of places for titles.

Andy... will you be addressing TV video files at all. ie, many video files are simply TV files that are not recordings (ie, ripped tv shows), and as such sage thinks they are "Videos". Will yo be adding any checks to the default stv for TV video files that are not TV recordings, and showing the EpisodeName for those files, if set?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-07-2011, 02:19 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
I don't think it would matter whether they were TV shows or not; I was already planning to also display the episode if one exists.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:04 PM
razrsharpe razrsharpe is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 2,111
Sounds great to me It will definitely ease the confusion when the api calls return the same information for both imported and recorded videos
__________________
Server 2003 r2 32bit, SageTV9 (finally!)
2x Dual HDHR (OTA), 1x HD-PVR (Comcast), 1x HDHR-3CC via SageDCT (Comcast)
2x HD300, 1x SageClient (Win10 Test/Development)
Check out TVExplorer
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:22 PM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,009
Would it make sense to scrape the file names on imported video files when they follow a pre-defined format (to parse out some additional metadata, such as the Episode name and/or Season/Episode Numbers)?

Or is this more work than Sage wants to take on?
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:30 PM
Fonceur's Avatar
Fonceur Fonceur is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: DDO, QC
Posts: 1,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Would it make sense to scrape the file names on imported video files when they follow a pre-defined format (to parse out some additional metadata, such as the Episode name and/or Season/Episode Numbers)?
That sounds good too! The various third party developers already doing that to grab metadata might be able to give a head start.
__________________
SageTCPServer (2.3.5): Open source TCP interface to the SageTV API
MLSageTV (3.1.8)/Sage Media Server (1.13): SageTV plugin for MainLobby/CQC
TaSageTV (2.58)/TaSTVRemote (1.14): Monitor/control SageTV with an Android device
TbSageTV (1.02)/STVRemote (1.11): Monitor/control SageTV with a PlayBook 2
TiSageTV (1.64)/TiSTVRemote (1.09): Monitor/control SageTV with an iPhone/iPod/iPad
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:41 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
I don't think it would matter whether they were TV shows or not; I was already planning to also display the episode if one exists.

- Andy
I think that would be great... but, I'd suppress he episode name if it's the same as the title.. since that's probably a case where both fields have been set to the title.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-07-2011, 03:55 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiki View Post
Would it make sense to scrape the file names on imported video files when they follow a pre-defined format (to parse out some additional metadata, such as the Episode name and/or Season/Episode Numbers)?

Or is this more work than Sage wants to take on?
I don't think SageTV will be scraping the filenames for any metadata.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-07-2011, 04:54 PM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
I don't think SageTV will be scraping the filenames for any metadata.

- Andy
Comon Andy, you know you want to... it's so much fun... all the kool kids are doing it
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-07-2011, 05:01 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuckless View Post
Comon Andy, you know you want to... it's so much fun... all the kool kids are doing it
That argument won't work -- I was never part of the 'kool' crowd & I tend to not do anything just because "everyone else is doing it".

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-07-2011, 05:06 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Anyway the last thing the "kool kids" want is for grownups to start doing their stuff, 'cause then it's not cool anymore.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-07-2011, 05:13 PM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
So... uh... yeah... all you kids out there just remember that Jeff & I are grownups now. I think.

- Andy <shuffling off to take some vitamins>

I almost said Geritol instead of vitamins, but I wasn't sure if the rest of you would get that reference...
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-08-2011, 05:55 AM
tmiranda's Avatar
tmiranda tmiranda is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida, USA
Posts: 5,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opus4 View Post
Adding yet another field would just cause more confusion & complexity, I think, especially since the episode field now contains the title & would be changed.
My concern was that changing the behavior of the existing method would break existing plugins. I did a quick scan of my plugins and think the change will not cause any harm.
__________________

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-08-2011, 06:38 AM
stuckless's Avatar
stuckless stuckless is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
My concern was that changing the behavior of the existing method would break existing plugins. I did a quick scan of my plugins and think the change will not cause any harm.
I think it's a valid concern, but I think in this case, a few broken plugins is acceptable if we can clean up and create a consistent set of apis for titles.

In reality I'm betting this change will go unnoticed by most plugins, since any plugins that displays a title already goes though the process if checking the various title fields, checking if recording/movie/dvd, etc, to pull the right title... and in some cases using code to strip off every past the last path separator to get a clean title... so I'm betting there will be very few plugins affected... unless those plugins depended on the path being part of the title (as sagemc once did, but it no longer does that).

As a developer, I might not like that fact that a change in core has an impact on my plugins... but I can choose either to fix it or not... I've had a couple changes in core that has negatively impacted my plugins... but I just fix and move on... I think that from time to time api clean ups are needed
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-08-2011, 09:53 AM
Opus4's Avatar
Opus4 Opus4 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 19,624
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmiranda View Post
My concern was that changing the behavior of the existing method would break existing plugins. I did a quick scan of my plugins and think the change will not cause any harm.
Adding a new API call to get the title wouldn't help that much.

But, there is a major downside to existing STVs & plugins & that would be the episode field being blank -- instead of a title, older code would show nothing. So, we would store the title in both the title & episode fields. Older code would then still have something to display; newer code can display only the title, or title + episode if they are different.

The main change would still be using GetMediaFileRelativePath() instead of GetShowTitle() to get the relative path.

- Andy
__________________
SageTV Open Source v9 is available.
- Read the SageTV FAQ. Older PDF User's Guides mostly still apply: SageTV V7.0 & SageTV Studio v7.1.
- Hauppauge remote help: 1) Basics/Extending it 2) Replace it 3) Use it w/o needing focus
- HD Extenders: A) FAQs B) URC MX-700 remote setup
Note: This is a users' forum; see the Rules. For official tech support fill out a Support Request.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Title and Episode on Imported Videos JREkiwi Batch Metadata Tools 20 10-27-2010 03:46 PM
Looking for Title/Season/Episode naming formats to support for metadata scraper evilpenguin General Discussion 17 01-08-2009 04:43 PM
EPG Not showing the shows episode title FormatC: SageTV EPG Service 1 07-23-2008 08:38 PM
Excluding imported audio/video from title search? GTwannabe SageTV Software 0 05-25-2006 03:27 PM
Java Question for STV Developers mightyt SageTV Customizations 10 09-29-2004 07:35 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.