SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > Hardware Support > Hardware Support
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

Hardware Support Discussions related to using various hardware setups with SageTV products. Anything relating to capture cards, remotes, infrared receivers/transmitters, system compatibility or other hardware related problems or suggestions should be posted here.

Old 09-10-2013, 12:34 AM
Sage User

Sudden Sage Problems with HDHR Prime and SageDCT

To start, I have browsed and searched the huge thread about this and it appears no one is having exactly the same problem as me...

I have been running the same Sage setup for 6 years now with no real problems (other than those induced by Comcast). My Sage Server (dedicated to Sage) is WinXP 32 bit with 2GB RAM and a couple of large drives that serve up my BD's in mkv format. Those drives also serve as backup recording locations when the network storage PC is offline (this is a PC I built specifically for storing videos as well as music and family photos). I watch via HD extenders (HD100x2, HD200x2 and a HD300). I was running with an Avermedia card and two HVR-2250's and once 1600 recording my local channels and a Colossus recording the encrypted cable channels through a STB. Then Comcast encrypted my locals. About the same time (a couple weeks earlier), my Colossus lost the blue component to the color. So, I removed all my cards and bought a HDHR Prime and got a cablecard. I setup SageDCT and have it tuning well, but now I have video studders on playback and randomly, SageDCT service stops. My CPU and memory usage are now way higher than they have ever been. Sage will eat up over 1GB of RAM, then fall to 40MB. SageDCT will do the same. I ramped up the overclock on my processor (core 2 duo, E5200) so that I'm now running at 3.2GHz, but I'm still seeing ~60% loads periodically. I have almost no trouble with recordings though. Whether the recording is being saved on my stor