SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Old 08-11-2015, 02:18 PM
SageTVaholic

Philosophy for core vs plugins

I am new to community built OSS, but how do decisions like this get made?

Personally I think that a lot of the functionality that was added in plugins should be part of the core SageTV code. For example SageAlert which allows you to get notifications via email, growl, etc for system messages or other events. When something goes wrong with my Sage server I want to find out about it immediately on my phone so that I can try to fix it. I can't see how almost any Sage user wouldn't want this functionality.

There also could be gray areas that are easier to do in OSS than in commercial software as Sage was in the past.

Where should these types of discussions take place?
Old 08-11-2015, 02:24 PM
Sage

This seems like a good place for discussions like that.

I've always liked the philosophy of separation with code where possible. So if a plugin can work just fine as a plugin...then it should be left that way. We always tried to do the same thing with Studio/UI...if it can be done in the Studio, then don't try to change the SageTV core to do it instead (unless there's performance reasons for it).
Old 08-11-2015, 02:33 PM
SageTVaholic

Ok Jeff, but then why is encoding part of the core functionality? Surely that is something that could have been done in a plugin? But I guess SageTVdidn't really support Plugins fully until V7.