SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Customizations
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Customizations This forums is for discussing and sharing user-created modifications for the SageTV application created by using the SageTV Studio or through the use of external plugins. Use this forum to discuss customizations for SageTV version 6 and earlier, or for the SageTV3 UI.

Old 08-16-2009, 04:54 AM
Sage User

Is there a way of doing Metadata WITHOUT BMT

Hi,

I have been running SageTV for about 2 months now coming from MMC it is great but one big problem I have is Meta Data, I have tried using BMT and I find it a total mess, the add on is just all over the place now and I can't seem to get my head around it.

I understand that someone has done this on their time and I have been flamed for criticizing it in the passes but the product is just not for me and I would expect half the people that try and install it now would just give up as I have.

From what I can gather SageTV reads the Meta Data from a .properties file within the folder of each ripped DVD I have on My server??

Basically what I want to do is create a .properties file for each movie I add and I want it to reside in the same folder as the ripped movie so if I want to change I just edit the file.

In MMC I was using something called YAMMM, it was so simple, I just told the location of my movies and it downloaded all the Meta Data and the folder.jpg file, I still use this to do the folder.jpg file as for the Life of me I could not get BMT to do it.

OK, so what I would like to know is the following:
Are there any other alternatives to BMT for SageTV?
Is it possible for me to just have a .properties file for each movie in each folder?
If I follow the Instructions for removing BMT in the reverse order can I get rid of it without having re-install SageTV again?
Old 08-16-2009, 07:07 AM
SageTVaholic