SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Studio
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Studio Discussion related to the SageTV Studio application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the Studio software application should be posted here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2010, 11:30 AM
cracklepopflash cracklepopflash is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Posts: 26
Video Widget Issue

I've encountered an issue that I am not sure why it's happening. I have a video widget and a button to play a local video through WatchLocalVideo(), but when I click play...I get two black horizontal bars on both sides and nothing in the center...however when have the button transition to another menu with the video widget, the video plays nicely with the video contents actually appearing and playing.

What do I have to do to play a video on a video widget in the same menu without transitioning to another menu widget?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2010, 12:05 PM
GKusnick's Avatar
GKusnick GKusnick is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5,083
Did you call Refresh() to get your Video widget re-evaluated? You may need a MediaPlayerFileLoadComplete hook to call Refresh() from.

Also make sure you have a conditional guarding your Video widget so that it doesn't show unless there's actually a video playing.
__________________
-- Greg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-01-2010, 02:57 PM
cracklepopflash cracklepopflash is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Posts: 26
So I tried your suggestion, but I'm still getting the same problem with two vertical black bars on both sides and nothing showing in the middle.

And about the conditional guarding the video widget so it doesn't show until video is playing, when do I know exactly when a video is actually playing?

Is it when the MediaPlayerFileLoadComplete hook is called? Cuz right now, that's what I'm doing and it doesn't seem to work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:21 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
Quote:
Originally Posted by cracklepopflash View Post
And about the conditional guarding the video widget so it doesn't show until video is playing, when do I know exactly when a video is actually playing?
Try using something like:

Code:
If HasMediaFile()
   true
      Video Widget
That should get you going in its basic form.

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:34 PM
cracklepopflash cracklepopflash is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Posts: 26
So I used the HasMediaFile() conditional, but I still have the same problem with the video widget.

Here's more detail on what I did:

So I have a Panel Widget that contains the video widget which only appears based on the HasMediaFile conditional.

And then I have another panel that contains the several buttons that when pressed would each play a different local video file. When pressed, I call the WatchLocalFile() method.

I have two hooks. The MediaPlayerFileLoadComplete that calls Refresh() and the FilePlaybackFinished that called CloseAndWaitUntilClosed() method and then Refresh().
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-01-2010, 03:50 PM
jaminben jaminben is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 1,754
Send a message via MSN to jaminben
You should simply be able to call the WatchLocalFile() with a Refresh() attached to it all under an item widget and it'll work. I've just tried it on my system purely because I've never used it before and it works ok.

Code:
Item Widget
   WatchLocalFile(OrtusBasePath + java_io_File_separator + "Ortus Video A.wmv")
     Refresh()

If HasMediaFile()
   true
      Video Widget
Once you have that part in then I'd start to add the other controls.

Cheers

Ben
__________________
Server - Win7 64bit, 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, TBS 6284 PCI-E Quad DVB-T2 Tuner, 3 x HD200 & 1 x HD300 extenders
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-01-2010, 04:06 PM
cracklepopflash cracklepopflash is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Posts: 26
I think I figured out the issue. It seems to have to do with the Animation field. In the panel I placed the Video Widget it, the Animation was in LayerForeground. Once I removed that field, the video plays ok.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use Video Widget cracklepopflash SageTV Studio 5 08-21-2009 03:24 PM
HD PVR Issue, Video Card, or Sage Issue? MorfiusX Hardware Support 21 03-24-2009 05:34 PM
Video issue nettech_gt Hardware Support 9 11-09-2007 09:32 AM
Scaling Text widget size within image widget area Morgan111 SageTV Studio 2 12-04-2006 02:16 PM
Sagetv 2.1 sound issue, small video issue sometimes doox00 SageTV Software 2 11-06-2004 07:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.