SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 06-05-2011, 12:11 AM
Sage Icon

Angry After 7 years with SageTV, It may just be over

OK, so it's not like I am brand new to Sage, having used it since version 2 back in 2004, but I am at the point where I am just plain tired of getting a poor quality TV picture and recordings. I know my PC is powerful enough (Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4GHz with 4gb RAM), and even upgraded to SageTV v.7, but I have dealt with a "marginal picture" since probably v.4. With this upgrade, I also I replaced a failing Nvidia Quadra FX 3500 card with a new ATI AIW HD with 512mb.

Screen resolustion on my flat panel with Windows 7 desktop is just fine. The new Sage UI is also fine. Online Video is also fine. But go to Live TV or Record anything from a tuner and it is terrible.

I have tried changing up the video settings over and over, as well as customizing through standard settings with "Configure Video Playback" using as much as Advanced, but still terrible.

I have three tuner cards with a total of 6 cable ports. All three cards are Hauppauge. Two are HVR 1600's and one PVR-250. I even bought a $50 signal booster from Radio Shack when I jumped from 4 to 6 cable ports back in the day.

The only time I remember getting good picture quality was long ago when I had an old fanless Nvidia card and used PureVideo.