SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Development and Customizations > SageTV Github Development
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Github Development Discussion related to SageTV Open Source Development. Use this forum for development topics about the Open Source versions of SageTV, hosted on Github.

Old 12-18-2016, 06:29 PM
Sage User

Any reason(s) NOT to upgrade from v7 to v9?

I've been running SageTV v7 successfully for many years, and I know there are some good things about v9. My question is are there any downsides to upgrading?

I have seen some mention of program guide licensing considerations? I'm not quite clear on what that really means though.

Also, I have built up a very long list of favorites -- can those be imported or otherwise somehow transferred to v9?
Old 12-18-2016, 08:12 PM
SageTVaholic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerva View Post
I've been running SageTV v7 successfully for many years, and I know there are some good things about v9. My question is are there any downsides to upgrading?

I have seen some mention of program guide licensing considerations? I'm not quite clear on what that really means though.

Also, I have built up a very long list of favorites -- can those be imported or otherwise somehow transferred to v9?
No reason to not upgrade. Most new functionality and plugins are Sage 9 only.

Sage Server: 8th gen Intel based system w/32GB RAM running Ubuntu Linux, HDHomeRun Prime with cable card for recording. Runs headless. Accessed via RD when necessary. Four HD-300 Extenders.
Old 12-19-2016, 10:17 AM
Sage Icon

If you're using the Windows server, the drop in method is pretty painless and won't require any changes wrt EPG.