SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-06-2023, 09:20 AM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,164
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaCrew View Post
I'm fine with whatever is decided, as long as my SageTV system continues to work and we can discus things.

I really appreciate, beyond words those who have kept SageTV up and running after the Google purchase. You guys are awesome!
Thirded.
I don't look here much anymore because Sage (STILL!) just works. But I'll be keeping more of an eye here to see what happens with this...

My only request is please not Reddit. I hate the format and I can't find anything (even though I know it's the "norm" with younger folks), and I'd literally need a for-dummies tutorial.
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-06-2023, 09:57 AM
Tiki's Avatar
Tiki Tiki is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southwest Florida, USA
Posts: 2,009
I took a look at some of the example Discourse sites and didnít see anything wrong with them. They all seemed to have a way to view and organize by category or just view most recent posts, so looks fine to me.

Iím happy as long as some form of forum continues.
__________________
Server: Ryzen 2400G with integrated graphics, ASRock X470 Taichi Motherboard, HDMI output to Vizio 1080p LCD, Win10-64Bit (Professional), 16GB RAM
Capture Devices (7 tuners): Colossus (x1), HDHR Prime (x2)
,USBUIRT (multi-zone)
Source:
Comcast/Xfinity X1 Cable
Primary Client: Server Other Clients: (1) HD200, (1) HD300
Retired Equipment: MediaMVP, PVR150 (x2), PVR150MCE,
HDHR, HVR-2250, HD-PVR
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-06-2023, 06:08 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I've never used Discourse before either...that's the only option if we want to use something hosted by Google for open source software discussions. But if the community wants to use something else somewhere (such as reddit) then they are free to do that of course...and if that is the preference, then i won't bother setting up the Discourse site and just provide a static archive of the site.

Here's a Discourse site I just found. They seem to use Categories instead of Subforums: https://forums.metallica.com/
How big is this website, data wise - over or under 1tb? I’m experimenting with a web-site download software package, and was wondering for that reason could be useful until I'm used to the new site when it's up and running
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-07-2023 at 09:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-07-2023, 10:57 AM
randyth randyth is offline
Sage User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Eugene, ,OR
Posts: 41
+1 for Discourse.

And, though I am a Reddit user, I discourage moving SageTV discussions there.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-07-2023, 11:45 AM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
I think going forward if there are sub-forums or topics in discourse we should probably have a limited number, far less than in this forum. Perhaps specific sub-forums for General Discussion, Windows, unRAID, other Linux, capture devices, Plugins and that may be all we need.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-07-2023, 12:38 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
Regarding downloading the site...I'm currently working on that. I'm just using wget in recursive format w/ lots of extra options. It should end up looking exactly like the existing forums...but no interactive functionality (i.e. no search, no posting, no PMs, no logins). Mainly it preserves all the forums listings, threads/posts, members and attachments....all as static HTML content. The URLs for posts won't be the exact same as before since the query params need to be converted to actual URLs instead...but Google should end up indexing it all and then Google can be the search tool for the vBulletin forums.

And regarding size...it should end up less than 100GB for everything (it blows up a lot because there's massive amounts of duplication in the static content).
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-07-2023, 01:28 PM
emveepee emveepee is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 417
After the NextPVR forum update from vBulletin to MyBB the hardest part was (is) that cross referenced links from one forum post to another fail. I am not sure if that can be resolved but I imagine tome's like the OpenDCT thread might become difficult to navigate.

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-07-2023, 02:09 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
Regarding downloading the site...I'm currently working on that. I'm just using wget in recursive format w/ lots of extra options. It should end up looking exactly like the existing forums...but no interactive functionality (i.e. no search, no posting, no PMs, no logins). Mainly it preserves all the forums listings, threads/posts, members and attachments....all as static HTML content. The URLs for posts won't be the exact same as before since the query params need to be converted to actual URLs instead...but Google should end up indexing it all and then Google can be the search tool for the vBulletin forums.

And regarding size...it should end up less than 100GB for everything (it blows up a lot because there's massive amounts of duplication in the static content).
Ok, great - thanks. Is there currently security in force that would disallow WinHTTrack from doing the job? I used that about four years ago and it worked fine, but now, just getting 403 Forbidden denials.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-08-2023, 10:42 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
I tried HTTrack and was hitting 403s as well...but no idea why it was happening so I stopped trying to use it.

The wget recursive download finished...but it definitely didn't get all the pages for some reason and also didn't repair all of the links properly.

I guess I'll go back to httrack and see if I can figure out what's causing the 403 issues.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-08-2023, 11:50 AM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
This is why the server is giving a 403 error...so guess I'll figure out what the client is doing since I built it from source.

ModSecurity: Warning. Matched phrase "$PATH" at REQUEST_COOKIES_NAMES:$Path. [file "/etc/apache2/conf.d/modsec_vendor_configs/OWASP3/rules/REQUEST-932-APPLICATION-ATTACK-RCE.conf"] [line "501"] [id "932160"] [msg "Remote Command Execution: Unix Shell Code Found"] [data "Matched Data: $PATH found within REQUEST_COOKIES_NAMES:$Path: $path"] [severity "CRITICAL"] [ver "OWASP_CRS/3.3.4"] [tag "application-multi"] [tag "language-shell"] [tag "platform-unix"] [tag "attack-rce"] [tag "paranoia-level/1"] [tag "OWASP_CRS"] [tag "capec/1000/152/248/88"] [tag "PCI/6.5.2"] [hostname "forums.sagetv.com"] [uri "/"] [unique_id "ZFk1umvE_E7NCVs1GfdEGwAAAB4"]
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 05-08-2023, 12:32 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
That was easy..just removed the $ from the Path attribute when it was setting the cookie and now it's moving along.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-08-2023, 12:51 PM
nyplayer nyplayer is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
That was easy..just removed the $ from the Path attribute when it was setting the cookie and now it's moving along.
Great ... Maybe you can share how you got around forbidden
__________________
Channels DVR UBUNTU Server 2 Primes 3 Connects TVE SageTV Docker with input from Channels DVR XMLTV and M3U VIA Opendct.

Last edited by nyplayer; 05-08-2023 at 12:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-08-2023, 01:47 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
That was easy..just removed the $ from the Path attribute when it was setting the cookie and now it's moving along.
WooHoo! Thanks man, I was trying two other apps and getting the same 403 business.
So which program did you use to check the 403 Forebidden error is gone, and to download the site?
At least with an updated database on a local drive, I can ease into the style of the NEW board. 13-years later, and your dvr is still the best
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-08-2023, 03:08 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
I'm using httrack...but I had to recompile the code and remove the dollar sign on this line:

https://github.com/xroche/httrack/bl...htslib.c#L1067

then the 403 problems went away.

And thanks again for all the kinds words....I agree SageTV is the best DVR.

Now regarding Discourse...so that's not going to happen at this time (internal details I can't get into). The only other thing I can do w/ Google's blessing is to create a Google Group for this...which isn't really ideal. The other alternative is somebody else creating a non-official discussion site..and then we link to that as the 'non-official SageTV dicussion forums'. Any takers on that?
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-08-2023, 03:43 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
I'm also not going to be able to host all the binary files (installers and such) on Google's service...so I'll move those to GitHub (and only include a few versions, not EVERYTHING like we have now)
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Striker:WG Striker:WG is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 472
Just gonna chime in here and say how awesome these forums have been as a wealth of knowledge and kind/helpful community!

I'm sure the kind community will carry on, and really hoping that the old content remains searchable in a usable way

To a lesser extent, do we know if things like logins, PM's, and other such personalized things can be transferred over to Discourse, or should we expect to be signing up and starting over once things are migrated?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-08-2023, 04:34 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I'm using httrack...but I had to recompile the code and remove the dollar sign on this line:

https://github.com/xroche/httrack/bl...htslib.c#L1067

then the 403 problems went away.

And thanks again for all the kinds words....I agree SageTV is the best DVR.

Now regarding Discourse...so that's not going to happen at this time (internal details I can't get into). The only other thing I can do w/ Google's blessing is to create a Google Group for this...which isn't really ideal. The other alternative is somebody else creating a non-official discussion site..and then we link to that as the 'non-official SageTV dicussion forums'. Any takers on that?
OK, I'm still getting 403 Forbidden errors with HTTrack. What page do you use as the first page that gets pasted into Track?
Or did you compile a special version of HTTRack.

I'm not tech savvy enough to host a site, but I'd gladly pay a few bob if someone else had the skill...and I'll ask around some of the other sysops I know.
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-08-2023 at 05:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-08-2023, 06:03 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
OK, I'm still getting 403 Forbidden errors with HTTrack. What page do you use as the first page that gets pasted into Track?
Or did you compile a special version of HTTRack.
I compiled a special version of HTTRack.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 05-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by Striker:WG View Post
To a lesser extent, do we know if things like logins, PM's, and other such personalized things can be transferred over to Discourse, or should we expect to be signing up and starting over once things are migrated?
I mentioned in my last post that I won't be setting up a Discourse server (internal issues I can't explain). The only other option I'm allowed to pursue would be a Google Group...for any real forum, somebody else would need to set it up since I'm still bound by Google's rules.
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 05-08-2023, 06:32 PM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
I compiled a special version of HTTRack.
Ah, okay - that's what a tech-friend of mine thought you may have done.
Any idea what a non-coding commoner like moi could do - would I replace the htslib.c which installed with the program with the one you linked to ini post #34, or do I need to re-compile a version myself as you did?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 05-08-2023 at 07:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
malore menus: using the Options command for xml/commercial detect options Opus4 SageTV v7 Customizations 21 06-09-2017 11:32 PM
DVR (non-DIY discussion) QueOnda The SageTV Community 16 10-02-2015 08:12 AM
DST discussion mikejaner SageTV Software 53 03-18-2010 07:08 PM
SageTV Forums Forums salsbst General Discussion 5 05-06-2005 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.