SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Old 03-10-2007, 08:08 AM
Sage Advanced User

Soon to be user, few questions

I've finally decided to take the plunge and do away with my stb dvr's and move to pc based.

I've toyed with the idea for about a year, researched and researched until I confused myself enough, then gave up on it. After a couple of times doing that I've just decided to do it and see how it goes. I've decided to go with Sage over MythTV and MediaPortal, which both had my serious consideration for about a week each.

I'm new to all this, so I hope over the next couple of years my questions and problems don't get annoying.

First some of my intentions and impressions and then some questions, I appreciate any help and answers you have.

I will be building a dedicated computer for sage, initially I'm not going to run it headless over vnc until I can get everything figured out and get it all stable. Actually I am not going to lose the dish network dvr's until I get it figured out and stable(Wife factor comes into play) So I am going to set it up in my office, to my computer monitor, and possibly cabled with dvi/hdmi to the living room once I know what I'm doing, for now.