SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > SageTV Products > SageTV Software
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

SageTV Software Discussion related to the SageTV application produced by SageTV. Questions, issues, problems, suggestions, etc. relating to the SageTV software application should be posted here. (Check the descriptions of the other forums; all hardware related questions go in the Hardware Support forum, etc. And, post in the customizations forum instead if any customizations are active.)

Old 12-10-2007, 05:14 PM

Voice volume very low in audio in HD

Hello, I am a newbie and this may have been answered elsewhere already but I have noticed this problem couple of times now. First noticed about a week ago when Polar Express was broadcast on ABC in HD. I could hear all the special effects sounds just fine but could not hear any speech. It was the weirdest experience. Seemed like somebody had turned on the mute function but I could still hear all the other sounds. Just the spoken words were very faint.
Again happened last night during broadcast of Shark (don't remember what network).
Somebody please help! Thanks.
Old 12-10-2007, 06:28 PM
Sage Icon

HD content is AC3 audio and that is lower than analog MP3 audio.

If you install AC3filter, and set Sage to use it as the audio decoder, you can go into the AC3filter config and increase the gain on the voice channel to better hear the speech.

Clients: 1 MediaMVP, 1 Placeshifter Client, & 1 SageTV Client.
Old 12-10-2007, 07:31 PM
Sage Advanced User

a related question, i always forget to turn the volume back down after watching an HD broadcast before switching back to a non-hd channel and end up making everyone jump from the much louder volume output. Can I standardize the volume output somehow using the AC3filter? I will take a look but hate to just start making changes to something like that which i know very little about without some guidance.