SageTV Community  

Go Back   SageTV Community > General Discussion > General Discussion
Forum Rules FAQs Community Downloads Today's Posts Search

Notices

General Discussion General discussion about SageTV and related companies, products, and technologies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2023, 12:13 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Here's to another year running SageTV

I just noticed that I joined this forum 15 years ago - amazing. The other amazing thing is the longevity of SageTV and the SageTV extenders. I have a whole bunch of extenders - some that I bought directly, others that I bought used.

The failure rate on these is very low, I have had one or two act flaky from time to time, but I have used several extenders for a decade or more without problems. Impressive!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2023, 08:08 AM
sic0048 sic0048 is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,400
Yup.

It is amazing that SageTV (even with it's limited development since the Google buyout) is still one of the most feature rich DVR systems out there.

Thank you to all the developers and users that are keeping SageTV alive!
__________________
i7-6700 server with about 10tb of space currently
SageTV v9 (64bit)
Ceton InfiniTV ETH 6 cable card tuner (Spectrum cable)
OpenDCT
HD-300 HD Extenders (hooked to my whole-house A/V system for synched playback on multiple TVs - great during a Superbowl party)
Amazon Firestick 4k and Nvidia Shield using the MiniClient
Using CQC to control it all
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2023, 09:45 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
agreed. Last copywrite on the thing was 2010. lol. The only problem with my extenders are their struggle with my giant database. How much ram do these things have, if any?
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson

Last edited by tvmaster2; 01-03-2023 at 08:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2023, 09:56 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 113
Sage is amazing software! I appreciate it every day - with 4OTA tuners and two WMC boxes - > network encoders, I get very few if any errors. Fingers crossed that CABLECARDS survive for a while! Thanks to all on this forum who have helped me get to where my system is today.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2023, 04:16 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
I have never had the luxury of CableCards, I have learned to live with Cable boxes tuned via firewire. But my system is still very stable.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2023, 04:18 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvmaster2 View Post
agreed. Last copywriter on the thing was 2010. lol. The only problem with my extenders are their struggle with my giant database. How much ram do these things have, if any?
They don't have much, but I think that is all done on the server for the Extenders. How much Java Heap do you give it?

The one thing that made a big difference to me was going to 64 bit SageTV/Java. Before that 3-4 Extenders simultaneously connected could cause it to crap out. For fun I have attached over a dozen extenders and Placeshifters and not have issues.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2023, 06:08 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,754
Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2023, 08:52 AM
TGsell TGsell is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Glen Head
Posts: 113
to Wayner's reply: Firewire was not an option for my boxes and the USBUIRT configuration was only mayb 75% accurate in tuning... not even close to good enough for my wife! We all have different options depending on our cable provider. One additional note is having the Sage recording files be transportable is a huge value when traveling, etc. And of course my whole system has backup power for at least an hour...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-2023, 12:39 PM
Narflex's Avatar
Narflex Narflex is offline
Sage
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 6,349
This year is the 20 years anniversary of SageTV launching (March 1, 2003 was V1 launch date). It's extremely satisfying to see people still active on the forums and using the product 11+ years since we sold to Google. I'm still using it of course.

Thanks for everyone's support all this time!
__________________
Jeffrey Kardatzke
Google
Founder of SageTV
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-2023, 02:54 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Thanks to you Jeff, especially for getting it OSed from Google a few years back!

And good job on the extenders as they are still running strong!
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-11-2023, 06:20 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,754
Thank you, Jeff. It's extremely satisfying to still be here. There's still nothing that can touch SageTV as a DVR.

Plenty of extenders still running here, too.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-11-2023, 06:29 PM
jt4242 jt4242 is offline
Sage Advanced User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 186
It's magnificent software and I'd be lost without it. Thank you Jeff and everyone else who makes sure it still works!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-15-2023, 08:16 AM
SHS's Avatar
SHS SHS is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vinita, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,589
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
This year is the 20 years anniversary of SageTV launching (March 1, 2003 was V1 launch date). It's extremely satisfying to see people still active on the forums and using the product 11+ years since we sold to Google. I'm still using it of course.

Thanks for everyone's support all this time!
That's because none of the others out there can be run in offline mode and the fact that SageTV has the best intelligent recording on planet, and I still can't get any app to support manual or automatic watch option in the guide how ever linux has got a lot support.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-15-2023, 09:24 AM
tvmaster2's Avatar
tvmaster2 tvmaster2 is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: tarana
Posts: 4,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narflex View Post
This year is the 20 years anniversary of SageTV launching (March 1, 2003 was V1 launch date). It's extremely satisfying to see people still active on the forums and using the product 11+ years since we sold to Google. I'm still using it of course.

Thanks for everyone's support all this time!
Thanks for creating it! After all this time, the only thing I wish we had were extenders with 32g of ram, or more, for the 20-year libraries we keep adding to. lol.
Cheers!
__________________
Sage 9 server = Gigabyte AMD quad-core - 4 gigs - integrated ATI HD4200 chipset - SSD boot, Hitachi Deskstar show drives. HD-PVR - Colossus - Win7 32 bit. HD200/300ís networked. HDHomerun tuner. "If you've given up on Weird Al, you've given up on life" - Homer Simpson
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-15-2023, 11:30 AM
RonBoyd's Avatar
RonBoyd RonBoyd is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by SHS View Post
That's because none of the others out there can be run in offline mode and the fact that SageTV has the best intelligent recording on planet, and I still can't get any app to support manual or automatic watch option in the guide how ever linux has got a lot support.
I, too, have been around from the very beginning. The only product that I have found to (somewhat) compare is Tablo.

I have never had cable/satellite so have only used SageTV for OTA TV. Currently, i use Tablo and SageTV about 50/50. The main advantage I find with Tablo is the "forward" and "rewind" function which has the image viewing during the process. It is kind of a pain in SageTV to do it blindly.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-15-2023, 04:05 PM
wayner wayner is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
The main advantage I find with Tablo is the "forward" and "rewind" function which has the image viewing during the process. It is kind of a pain in SageTV to do it blindly.
There is a plugin that gives thumbnails every few seconds or so. Try a search of the forums.
__________________
New Server - Sage9 on unRAID 2xHD-PVR, HDHR for OTA
Old Server - Sage7 on Win7Pro-i660CPU with 4.6TB, HD-PVR, HDHR OTA, HVR-1850 OTA
Clients - 2xHD-300, 8xHD-200 Extenders, Client+2xPlaceshifter and a WHS which acts as a backup Sage server
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-15-2023, 04:11 PM
KryptoNyte's Avatar
KryptoNyte KryptoNyte is offline
SageTVaholic
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,754
If you find that plugin, please let me know what and where it is. I didn't even know something like that existed for Sage.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-15-2023, 04:52 PM
KeithAbbott KeithAbbott is online now
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Michigan
Posts: 1,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by KryptoNyte View Post
If you find that plugin, please let me know what and where it is. I didn't even know something like that existed for Sage.
I also did not know it existed. The plugin is called "Thumbnail Navigator"; I just installed it and initially playing around with it, it works pretty well.
__________________
Server: MSI Z270 SLI Plus ATX Motherboard, Intel i7-7700T CPU, 32GB Memory, Unraid 6.11.5, sagetvopen-sagetv-server-opendct-java11 Docker (version 2.0.7)
Tuners: 2 x SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime Cable TV Tuners, SiliconDust HDHomeRun CONNECT 4K OTA Tuner
Clients: Multiple HD300 Extenders, Multiple Fire TV Stick 4K Max w/MiniClient
Miscellaneous: Multiple Sony RM-VLZ620 Universal Remote Controls
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-15-2023, 06:16 PM
david1234 david1234 is offline
Sage Aficionado
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Beaverton, OR
Posts: 313
I had to go check, joined 11/2007. I pretty much don't think about sage- it just works. My tuners die, and i really need to order a new hdhomerun,. But sage is solid
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-18-2023, 02:28 PM
pjpjpjpj pjpjpjpj is offline
Sage Icon
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,164
Thanks to Jeff for keeping it alive for us, post-Google. For as relatively-dated as some functions are, it still has more features than 90% of whatever all of my friends and neighbors use.

I joined SageTV just over a year before my oldest was born, so my household has a 13 year old and 11 year old who have known SageTV as how they navigate TV/media files for their entire lives. For a good portion of their lives, any time there was something new on a streaming site that they wanted to watch, I would use PlayOn to download the movie or show and drop it in their "Kids" folder. Now they've finally moved to a stage where they are savvy enough to switch TV input to a Fire Stick and stream it (saves me hard drive space for sure)... but they still tend to use SageTV for a lot of their old favorites that they watch over and over.

Here's to another 20 more?
__________________
Server: AMD Athlon II x4 635 2.9GHz, 8 Gb RAM, Win 10 x64, Java 8, Gigabit network
Drives: Several TB of internal SATA and external USB drives, no NAS or RAID or such...
Software: SageTV v9x64, stock STV with ADM.
Tuners: 4 tuners via (2) HDHomeruns (100% OTA, DIY antennas in the attic).
Clients: Several HD300s, HD200s, even an old HD100, all on wired LAN. Latest firmware for each.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SageTV - Songs from 2018 showing up as year 0000 instead of year 2018 Rezolution SageTV Software 1 01-31-2018 07:13 PM
SageTV Newbie: Any problem with running SageTV Media Center on primary computer? botsmack Hardware Support 10 05-14-2009 11:44 AM
6.1.4: SageTV, Vista, & MVP work perfectly but only WITHOUT SageTV Service running! sjgore SageTV Beta Test Software 0 03-11-2007 11:25 AM
SageTV 4.0 service - opening Sage UI hangs running SageTV client Surtr SageTV Software 1 11-10-2005 01:25 PM
SageTV hangs on start if SageTV Service is Enabled/Running zwombat SageTV Software 10 11-08-2004 02:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Copyright 2003-2005 SageTV, LLC. All rights reserved.